Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (613 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
147
266
123
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


613 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Tousek from Czech Republic with 21 ratings

Mount Gay Distilleries boast of being the oldest one in the world. This is not only a marketing move but every sip of this rum confirms that generations of roneros in Barbados have gathered enough experience how to make a great rum. An excellent choice for brandy and cognac lovers, the taste is very smooth, wood plays the major role. 85%

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Stephen from United States with 10 ratings

Mount Gay XO is truly a special rum. Not sweet like some other aged rums. Gives you that "real" rum flavor but smooth and delicious. This must've been the type of rum that the was the "special bottle" the pirate captain would keep hidden in his cabin. Outstanding.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This was a great rum. Not as sweet as previous rums such as El Dorado, but great. Reminiscent of a good scotch. Scotch drinkers will love this one. Phenomenal complex aroma that gets better as it sits in the glass longer. Drink straight up!

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by Cowboy Neal from United States with 13 ratings

Good choice for starting out, not too expensive, and gives you a good representation of ages rums

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Michael Shell from United States with 4 ratings

My brother poured me a sample of this the other day. I have spent much more time appreciating scotch than I have rum (this may start to change ;-) It did have a sort of earthiness and smokiness reminiscent of a scotch. I enjoyed that very much!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Nothing too special in my opinion. A rum for your standard evening sip - not the special occasions.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Neskutečně hladký a jemný rum. Dubový sud se snoubí s lahodnou vůní vanilky, banánů a tabáku. Není zbytečně sladký ale i přesto velmi jemný.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by SaidWhatWhen from United States with 9 ratings

Mount Gay XO screams excellence. Great balance of spice flavors, sweetness, oak. This rum has it all. Almost impossible to pin a style to it, other than it should be what you conjure in your head when you say rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Heliumiami from United States with 4 ratings

I often have my wife pour me something at random from the "cabinet" when I get home after work. Since I have few bottles of rum, but plenty of bourbon, I was initially misled into thinking that was what she had poured, due to the deep, rich color in the glass. What really struck me as I was trying to discern which "bourbon" my wife had poured for me, was how much brown sugar was coming through, in addition to the more staid, but still enjoyable, flavours of leather and old, wood-paneled office/study. But that brown sugar wasn't the cloying sweetness of something added; it came straight through from the distillate and barrel wood. My discovery that it was Mount Gay XO has only added to my enjoyment of this bottle. Blind tastings often help me to discover things in a drink that my expectations might be hiding. Mount Gay has a ton going for it, and lot's more to be discovered.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

There is nothing better than this for the price. You can head upstream but there's diminishing returns for the amount of money you have to spend. I have a bottle of this always. This rum does what many more expensive rums can't, that is remain smooth without added sugar. Compared to the Plantation 20th or the Diplomatico or El Dorado it's not as sweet but it's also unadulterated and more complex. This should be your benchmark.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bill Mitchell from Australia with 14 ratings

I think it is hard to go past this for the money. Just about everything one needs in a mid priced rum, fresh, spicy, rich and peppery very well balanced oak for the money. I have had rums for twice the price that were half the drink.