Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10 (582 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
143
253
110
23

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


582 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

414f4d5ba4b70d47f4e1beb09fb7a3d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

It is setting the standard for a Bajan pot still rum for me.

798f29ea71356f05ef44df60b659335d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Stephen from United States with 10 ratings

Mount Gay XO is truly a special rum. Not sweet like some other aged rums. Gives you that "real" rum flavor but smooth and delicious. This must've been the type of rum that the was the "special bottle" the pirate captain would keep hidden in his cabin. Outstanding.

Caf5fa937da39b01fb105c2bd6d41501.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This was a great rum. Not as sweet as previous rums such as El Dorado, but great. Reminiscent of a good scotch. Scotch drinkers will love this one. Phenomenal complex aroma that gets better as it sits in the glass longer. Drink straight up!

E3731de8f09e133a3c9a8f80a59c8775.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Michael Shell from United States with 4 ratings

My brother poured me a sample of this the other day. I have spent much more time appreciating scotch than I have rum (this may start to change ;-) It did have a sort of earthiness and smokiness reminiscent of a scotch. I enjoyed that very much!

Ac87e0556b4c8034515926b3e4e7f445.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Nothing too special in my opinion. A rum for your standard evening sip - not the special occasions.

Ca24b23492a3da84cb50d0ec9477d427.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by SaidWhatWhen from United States with 9 ratings

Mount Gay XO screams excellence. Great balance of spice flavors, sweetness, oak. This rum has it all. Almost impossible to pin a style to it, other than it should be what you conjure in your head when you say rum.

25ff4b19526397e7c5803a8a1f8be8f9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Heliumiami from United States with 4 ratings

I often have my wife pour me something at random from the "cabinet" when I get home after work. Since I have few bottles of rum, but plenty of bourbon, I was initially misled into thinking that was what she had poured, due to the deep, rich color in the glass. What really struck me as I was trying to discern which "bourbon" my wife had poured for me, was how much brown sugar was coming through, in addition to the more staid, but still enjoyable, flavours of leather and old, wood-paneled office/study. But that brown sugar wasn't the cloying sweetness of something added; it came straight through from the distillate and barrel wood. My discovery that it was Mount Gay XO has only added to my enjoyment of this bottle. Blind tastings often help me to discover things in a drink that my expectations might be hiding. Mount Gay has a ton going for it, and lot's more to be discovered.

3e75be6535cc7342c01331905c8e3036.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

There is nothing better than this for the price. You can head upstream but there's diminishing returns for the amount of money you have to spend. I have a bottle of this always. This rum does what many more expensive rums can't, that is remain smooth without added sugar. Compared to the Plantation 20th or the Diplomatico or El Dorado it's not as sweet but it's also unadulterated and more complex. This should be your benchmark.

438b68aeb6f51faad42f8a178f759062.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Bill Mitchell from Australia with 14 ratings

I think it is hard to go past this for the money. Just about everything one needs in a mid priced rum, fresh, spicy, rich and peppery very well balanced oak for the money. I have had rums for twice the price that were half the drink.

E56f0d927b7637c1dff970dbcd3deca8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by rumfan69 from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Ok I'm no expert but for me nose gives light sweet spiced molasses, light citrus and a hint of vanilla. It arrives medium sweet and spicy developing hot black pepper sweet citrus fruits, apple with some vanilla and a touch of tobacco. Finish is fairly long and gives more sweetness and fruit with some light leather notes as it closes. Aftertaste gives lingering tobacco and vanilla and is not drying. It's fairly priced and goes down well plus only a touch of added sugar and colour so kind of a craft presentation in the rum world. Anyway I'm enjoying it!!

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma from the bottle made it seem this was going to be a sweet rum but it is drier than I expected. There is a bit of a molasses flavor initially but then the burn hits masking any sweetness. Those who prefer a drier rum will probably enjoy sipping this neat but it's definitely an excellent mixer for me.