Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


558 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma from the bottle made it seem this was going to be a sweet rum but it is drier than I expected. There is a bit of a molasses flavor initially but then the burn hits masking any sweetness. Those who prefer a drier rum will probably enjoy sipping this neat but it's definitely an excellent mixer for me.

Posted over 3 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

Very smooth for very little to no added sugar.

An amazing sipper with a lot of depth and oaky flavor for the value:

Posted over 3 years ago by GregS from United States with 25 ratings

As the title says, this is my first sipping rum. I've only had rum in mixed drinks and decided that it's time for me to grow up and have some big boy drinks. Hehe. I decided to start with this one since it is often seen as a standard for tasting rum.
Overall I'm happy with my decision.
I smell fruit and spice. It's a little sweet smelling. I don't get the banana that others report, but that's good since I hate banana.
On my tongue, I get some spiciness, mainly pepper. I also detect some fruit, but my palate isn't refined enough yet to narrow it down.
I'll be judging all future rums against this one.

Posted over 4 years ago by Figgs from United States with 4 ratings

I've seen various Mount Gay rums but always overlooked them and never tried any. The XO was very good and I realize I've been missing out. Very smooth. Love the babana.

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

The aroma is very nice and fruity. It has a powerfull palate, with a fair amount of oak. Though fairly spicy, it's still quite smoothe, with subtle notes of molasse and burnt banana. It has a long and warming afterburn. If you feel like a break from the sweeter rums, i find this a recommendable choice.

Posted about 1 month ago by charlierumber from Australia with 5 ratings

Beautiful well rounded rum. Mount Gay XO extra old is just truly great

Posted 7 months ago by GaryGary from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

This is my favourite rum for around £30 , quite dry and very oaky, good for an ld fashioned

Posted 9 months ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

This is the real thing! For this price you get a very nice, smooth, sugareless premium crafted rum. The leaving is great and long, go for it !

Posted about 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 41 ratings

Did a Masterclass with Mount Gay ambassador, Mr Chester Browne, who was really fabulous and a great man. Had this one in the tasting, which was really good and can't wait to buy myself a bottle, it's a must have, smells great, Christmas cake, raisins, prunes, vanilla... And in the mouth is just as awesome, it doesn't let you down (like the black barrel did imho). No added sugar, if you have doubts ;) it is just a very very good rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by Rlcm4 from Barbados with 5 ratings

Surely you Jest 7.8 for this rum? This should be rated much higher closer to 9, this is a well balanced rum and from what I have seen on here, the preference is on the sweeter rums, this rum has a good nose, good legs, it evaporates on the tongue, pretty smooth. It has been done an injustice here.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

This is a real rum, tasty even if there is no added sugar, well balanced. True benchmark for good rums. It is difficult to find at least the same quality for the price of Mount Gay XO.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

I finally broke down and spent $41 for this bottle of highly rated Bajan rum from the oldest distiller in the Caribbean. Compared to my Mount Gay Eclipse, the XO is a lot darker and it looks like two entirely different rums which they are indeed. Both have very little aroma and a strong after burn. However, the first taste from this newly opened bottle of XO showed only subtle hints of extra flavors and not enough to justify the price of being more than double that of the Eclipse. I expected this bottle to change over the next few weeks, and it did indeed improve a little. Comparing it to a single malt scotch or fine bourbon is also unfair, and I find no comparisons at all to those. Just because it balances sweetness with dryness does not make it a whiskey.

Update a month or so later: It did not improve in the bottle after only a few sips, so I dock it a whopping five points and can't wait to get it out of my sight. It literally tumbled down. To give you an idea compared to two other rums with no added sugar, I will show what happened before and after my final samples of MGXO. I had just finished a couple of glasses of Ron Del Barrelito 3-Star on the rocks and wanted to save this good rum for another day. I chose to follow it up with MGXO on the rocks due to it also having no added sugar. The MGXO was downright nasty right after the Puerto Rican aged rum. After only one glass of MGXO, I could not take it anymore and switched to Flor de Cana 7 on the rocks at half the price. What an improvement! It looks like my days of buying anything by Mount Gay are over with. Highly over rated!

Update March 7, 2019: The epic downhill slide for this premium rum still has me scratching my head one year later as to why. The bottle is now long gone. It has no added sugar, which is usually the reason for such deterioration in taste. Comparing to two other dry rums may have been it's kill shot. However, it did lose it's initial rating of 8 within a few weeks and wound up as a 7. The last half of the bottle is what caused it's rating to tumble, so oxidation definitely played a part, albeit with no sugar.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory from Australia with 27 ratings

This is a great rum. Has a good punch that is followed and complimented by a smoothness and light sweetness.
This is defiantly What an English style rum should be. I would happily pour a glass of this any time.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Scatha from Belgium with 1 rating

Good rum for a good price...Inloggen bij a second one

Posted about 3 years ago by Kim from Australia with 53 ratings

Ill state up front that I like to mix with Coke.This really delivers with the cola. Before the cola goes in there is a nose of molasses and slightly burnt sugar. Once in the glass I get the typical oak/vanilla that you get with the Mount Gay rums. There is a faint acidity that possibly takes this away from being a true gem but for the price this is top notch. Not dissimilar to Penny Blue which is a little lighter and less acidic

Posted about 3 years ago by Robert Klein from Israel with 9 ratings

After reading up on rums, I finally settled on the Mount Gay XO and El Dorado 12 as a complementary pair that each offers a great tasting experience at a relatively affordable price (about $45 & $55 respectively). I once had Ron Zacapa XO, so I know what a "10" can taste like. To be fair, I'd have to try the Zacapa with these to really know how much - if any - separation there really is. But what I can say is that regardless of the exact score, what the majority of people have written here and on other websites is spot on: Mount Gay XO is for people who want that whiskey twang, while El Dorado 12 has a pure, smooth rum flavor. Both are very sophisticated, and alternating between them (or even mixing them occasionally!) really helps keep both fresh and interesting. I also recommend to anyone out there who only drinks rum to expand out as I did (originally only drank whiskey) and get some whiskey and some brandy, too. All very different and worthwhile tasting experiences. Enjoy!

P.S. I'm using this same basic text for both my Mount Gay XO and El Dorado 12 reviews.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

While in Barbados in 2011, my wife and I toured the Mount Gay distillery in Bridgetown and sampled some of their products including Mount Gay Eclipse and Mount Gay Extra Old, both of which we used as mix for rum punches. Upon our return home we purchased a bottle of each.

Fast forward to April 2017, the same two bottles are still in our liquor cabinet but are just about empty. Tonight I sipped on the remainder of both products to determine how the two fare as "sipper" Rum.

I must say that I was doubtful either of these two rums would qualify for decent sipping rums given the fact that 1) they were fairly inexpensive and 2) the bottles had been opened 6 years ago and both were less than 1/3 full.

I was pleasantly surprised with both samples of Mount Gay Eclipse and Mount Gay Extra Old. While the Mount Gay Eclipse rum is light and not as complex as the few aged rums I have sampled, it was nevertheless tasty. In my opinion Mount Gay Eclipse is a better mix than a sipping rum.

The second sample (Mount Gay Extra Old) was darker, tastier and more flavourful than the Eclipse and I really enjoyed its taste. Will without a doubt acquire a bottle of Mount Gay Extra Old in the near future. This rum makes an excellent mix but as a stand alone it is a respectable rum to drink neat.

UPDATE (July 2019)

Have now tried 116 different Rums I must say that besides St. Nicholas Abbey 12 Yr rum, Mount Gay XO is my favorite rum. The fact this Rum sells for $50 CAD in my area is enough for me to give it a “10” rating.

Posted about 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 38 ratings

Nothing special currently, will revisit in a few months with update. On the dryer side of aftertaste. The nose was slightly strong and the body was thin, didn't last too long. Burn in the back of the throat was tolerable. My first Mount Gay experience so I'm learning the characteristics​ currently...

Posted about 3 years ago by Zach from United States with 10 ratings

What a great Rum Mount Gay XO is. Bought a bottle without any previous experience with mount gay Rum. Sipped with a single cube to perfection.

Posted over 3 years ago by Woody Charisma from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Mount Gay is one of the oldest Rum companies and that is for one very good reason! This is very distinguished and smooth. Sadly the main issue is the bottles seem to have holes in them as it empties very quickly!!

Posted over 3 years ago by Ingela from Sweden with 12 ratings

Not my kind of rum, little to unsweet. Tried this in a pub.

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

MGXO has a super nice balance of dry, smokey, sweet, and oaky barrel flavor. There are hints of marshmallow vanilla along with chocolate, leather, and oak. Some subtle dried cherries and molasses flavor as well. I'm a bourbon fan which may be why I like this so much. There is a noticeable complexity of flavors it has besides just sweetness. There is a wonderful dry element to this one and I prefer it on the rocks at 43% alcohol. Extremely happy with this and will definitely be buying again. Update: coming back to this was difficult at first, I have tried so many "premium" sugary rums since and I couldn't appreciate it the way I used to. Over a few sessions of sipping at first it was just too hot and I could only taste the alcohol, then I added a little bit of water and time to the equation. After breathing and a dab of water I was able to recollect my initial love for this rum with its natural dry fruit/molasses sweetness and smooth finish. It's notably smoother on the finish than Doorly's 12 year and I can say that for sure now.

Posted over 3 years ago by Matagalpa from Israel with 8 ratings

This has become my go to sipping rum. Perfectly balanced and smooth, not overly sweet, rich flavor. I can’t find any fault with this Mount Gay XO. Truly a benchmark for other sipping rums.

Posted over 3 years ago by Brandon from United States with 8 ratings

I'm relatively new to the world of rum in that I hadn't ever tried anything outside of Sailor Jerry, Capt Morgan, or the other bottom shelf stuff.

My first thoughts on this was, "Wow". Great mouth feel, smooth, great flavor. This is my favorite hard liquor right now.

As a 'new' Rum drinker, I'm still exploring the vastness of different flavors and brands, but I specifically chose this as it's one of the better rated Rums. I've also let several other friends try this as well and they were very impressed.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Anthony from United States with 7 ratings

Appearance: 9/10
Pours a deep amber, forms thin legs that cling to the side of the tumbler. Looks delicious.
Smell: 9/10
Initial strong alcohol sting in the nose. After it has a chance to breathe for about 10 min at room temp, I get strong forward vanilla, cinnamon and wood, like an underlying scent of a cedar chest. Upon closer investigation, honey and spice can be detected. Simply lovely.
Taste: 9/10
Taste mostly follows the nose. Altogether sweet and bracing, with an almost cola-like undertone. But it's not candy-sweet like some fortified rums (Zaya). The tannic oak notes are definitely present, but in perfect balance with cola/honey sweetness. There's a bit of fire on the back of the palate, but only if I'm paying attention to it. Very smooth.
Mouthfeel: 9/10
Vicious, slick, resinous, almost chewy. This definitely has some body.

Overall impressions: This is a serious taster's rum. I prefer this to the Zaya that everyone raves about. Although I thought Zaya was pleasant enough, like an enjoyable liqueur or cocktail, this high-quality product does not need a slathering of sugar to make it sippable. Nor does this libation need ice or water. It's perfectly fine neat. It's balanced in all the right ways, dry heat to sweet, vanilla/spice/cola to astrigent wood. It's so complex and good that thinking about it makes my mouth water. I'm glad I invested in a bottle of this. It was well worth the price.