Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (610 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
147
263
123
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


610 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 57 ratings

Jedná se o rum s poněkud drsnější chutí stejně jako Mount Gay Black Barrel. Ovšem tím veškerá podobnost končí. Vůně, chuť i závěr jsou v případě XO o mnoho lepší.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Kair from Canada with 17 ratings

Great one !! I was very much impressed by it ! Sweet yet dry. Spicy yet not too much !! Great one for 47$ CA. A little less burn than the el dorado 12 say !

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Leo K from Canada with 54 ratings

I found this rum somewhat harsh and did not enjoy it as a stand alone sipper, Descent on the rocks or as a mixer if you are so inclined. Updated. Tried this again in December 2019. Either I have a "bad' bottle or the blend has changed. Less enjoyable than the last time I had it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

Great tasting rum, caramel, vanilla, oak, love the viscosity on this one, supper buttery and oily in the finish. Even though is 43% it still super smooth and easy to enjoy. This is a fantastic spirit, one my favorites so far.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This used to be much, much better - Now it is ok, and enjoyable. Bourbon cask offers vanilla (natural kind - not added essence), molasses, dried fruit, a bit creamy in character. Delivers - with no additives. I cannot help think it is filtered and blended a bit too much.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mrcaress from Canada with 12 ratings

A spicy caramel start with easy finish. Nothing offensive about this one. Good rum to share with friends or a coworker you don’t fully trust yet

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Ztrain11$$ from Canada with 8 ratings

An excellent rum. Tastes of caramel with a bit of spice. Smooth finish. Highly recommend

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Nisan Jaffee from Israel with 14 ratings

I developed a love for Rum when I lived for 10 years in the US Virgin Islands. But Rum is generally ignored by most of my friends, except as a mixer in drinks with little umbrellas in them. Well, I have opened a few eyes with Mt. Gay XO. The subtle flavor from the bourbon barrels makes this Rum unique. Smooth, dry, with a sweet nose. By the way, I paid 170 NIS, which beats the Partner Price of 176.50 NIS.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 40 ratings

Stunning bottle preserving a stunning rum worth sharing with good friends over a glowing fire!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 299 ratings

Žádný moučník, ostrý, ale pitelný rum, předčil očekávání

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Nice colour. Nice nose Nice taste. This is how a rum should be