Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (616 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
148
265
126
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


616 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Tousek from Czech Republic with 21 ratings

Mount Gay Distilleries boast of being the oldest one in the world. This is not only a marketing move but every sip of this rum confirms that generations of roneros in Barbados have gathered enough experience how to make a great rum. An excellent choice for brandy and cognac lovers, the taste is very smooth, wood plays the major role. 85%

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Bertv1 from Belgium with 14 ratings

Spicy start, hints of vanilla - but well balanced and a long aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by GroumpH from France with 32 ratings

Au nez on a un rhum complexe
Un peu plus limité à la dégustation.
Arriere gout assez fort.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 47 ratings

CAUTION!! If I had based on the ratings of this rum on the site, I would never have tried it.
We can't just rely on other people's opinions, especially when they don't have good taste.

This is the best rum in price range so far!!!

Nose: molasses, oak, vanilla and cinnamon.
Palate: no sweet, oaky, oily and incredibly smooth.
It has absolutely no smell or taste of alcohol.

One of the best rum I have ever tasted in my life. Amazing!!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Regan from Canada with 70 ratings

Look I’m not a HUGE fan of Barbados rum but I can’t rate on personal likes or dislikes , this is a very good rum and well worth picking up a bottle, I enjoy it a a mixer for sure

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 132 ratings

It took some time until I was able to appriciate this one. On the nose you can smell o lot of wood and smoke. First sip is a bit sharp but after that you can recognize hints of vanilla, nuts and oak with smoky tones. Great dry rum if you want to try something else than sweet rums.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Vicke from Sweden with 70 ratings

This is not a bad rum, but not for me. If you like the sweeter rums this is not for you. Also to dry for my taste.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Kair from Canada with 17 ratings

Great one !! I was very much impressed by it ! Sweet yet dry. Spicy yet not too much !! Great one for 47$ CA. A little less burn than the el dorado 12 say !

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Leo K from Canada with 54 ratings

I found this rum somewhat harsh and did not enjoy it as a stand alone sipper, Descent on the rocks or as a mixer if you are so inclined. Updated. Tried this again in December 2019. Either I have a "bad' bottle or the blend has changed. Less enjoyable than the last time I had it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

Great tasting rum, caramel, vanilla, oak, love the viscosity on this one, supper buttery and oily in the finish. Even though is 43% it still super smooth and easy to enjoy. This is a fantastic spirit, one my favorites so far.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This used to be much, much better - Now it is ok, and enjoyable. Bourbon cask offers vanilla (natural kind - not added essence), molasses, dried fruit, a bit creamy in character. Delivers - with no additives. I cannot help think it is filtered and blended a bit too much.