Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10
655 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
33
154
283
132
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

655 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum does have a nice level of complexity to it and it is rather smooth as well. If you enjoy nice dry clean rums then this is a go to.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Daniel.delvalle from United States with 19 ratings

My son-in-law gave me a bottle of this as a gift when he came back from Barbados. has a full flavor and has hints of caramel and molasses. Not bitter at all. One of the better West Indian drums I've tried.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Hard, strong, well balanced full body, not sweet at all

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Andreasx from Canada with 25 ratings

It has a nice mid-sweet nose. The flavour is strong with a balance between sweet and alcohol. The taste is very nice and quite smooth that stretched in the the aftertaste and lingers and is quite pleasant. I like it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Aylesby from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Great taste at 43% and even the slim bottle fits in the cupboard. Not sweet, no burn and from Barbados. On sale widely and sublect to price promations so put one away if you can.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Pleasantly cake-y, char-grilled banana, orange with sweet caramelizded candy spreads. Woody notes are presents with pepper undertones, leading to brighter minty chocolate and subtle floral nuances, though remains dark at most part. (86/20)

P- Abundant of wood that almost wee much to chew at, astringent with hint of sour bitter notes. The floral side does come thru, along with tobacco and oak spices. (83/18)

F- Medium, albeit oak-y, a quality breed with rare waxy honey notes and naturally sweet. (86/20)

B/B- 85/19

Weighted Rate- 77pt
— at Kill Devil KL.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

This rum to me is like a sony product. Not the very best out there, but you cant go wrong if there are few other options to choose from. Smooth enough to sip, not heavy or syrupy, and a clean finish.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by carl from United States with 53 ratings

Excellent rum, pretty dry and not much sweetness but very interesting flavor profile. I agree with the comment from the previous reviewer that whiskey lovers would appreciate this rum. It is also priced very reasonably for the age and quality.

After trying it neat, I had the best rum old fashioned I ever tasted. The dry and complex flavor was just perfect.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

This is simply the most fantastic rum it tastes even better drinking it in a local bar in Barbados
I love it over ice

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by thechosen21 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

I enjoyed it so much, it will give you a connoisseur experience. At this price range (£30-35), it is hard to compete with this rum. Same level as the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva (if not better), but less commercial and cheaper. One of the best value for money on the market!