Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (634 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
30
153
272
129
25

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

634 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Sbilmer from Canada with 11 ratings

Not worth writing home about. Good for mixed drinks but not rich enough as a sipper

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by IBO from Slovakia with 146 ratings

Mount Gay XO je melasovy rum,čo cítiť už vo vôni. Je naozaj nádherná a človeka pred ochutmanim správne naladí. Chuťovo to však pre mňa bol lepsi priemer,ktorý určite neurazí,ale výrazne nenadchne. Cítiť alkoholovu stopu, náznaky ovocia. Má vyšší obsah alkoholu 43%

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Pamponiros from Greece with 14 ratings

So, i have a bottle that is like 13 years old, so my review is based on that (1 Litre btw) and not on its recent descendant. Mount Gay people say that the juice is the same but i d be a bit sceptical. If it is the same, if you re looking for a good, affordable aged Rum, look no further. Great doesnt do it justice, insert a more fancy word.
Nose is molasses, vanilla, cocoa, oak
Palate is sharp in the begining but smoothens out, with vanilla leading and followed by fruit like plums and cherries and then bourbon oak finally making its appearence, giving you an oaky finish. This oaky finish could be a bit unpleasant to some so you could rate it 1 down.
Could drink this rum every day and it's nice that its price tag is where it is xD Hard to find a better quality/money ratio.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 1 year ago by Neman3 from Canada with 90 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by SSies from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Very smooth and supports that relaxing moment when enjoying a lovely rum

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Juan from Peru with 12 ratings

Nice and good to deink with friends. The favor is nothing special but always it is a good choice un the Island.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Henrik Hansen from Denmark with 59 ratings

I like the smell of it . But the taste does not agree with my tastebods.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

I only bought this as it was on special offer. I had previously tried Mount Gay "Black Barrel" and was totally underwhelmed by it, very mediocre to say the least. This stuff however, is in another league altogether. A myriad of wonderful flavours, a lovely after burn, but in no way harsh, this is "real" Rum. I would definitely buy this again.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Interesting...
Mount Gay - brand in coming from Barbados and its most oldest operating Rum distillery at the moment since 1703. You can find this year on the every bottle. But Mount Gay was not original brand ‘name’. It was renamed in 1801 from ‘Mount Gilboa’ in honor after
John Gay Alleyne death, who was business manager and latter lead company. Today ‘Mount gay distilleries Ltd’ produces also rum with old brand name - Mount Gilboa.

But now let’s come back to Mount Gay XO. This one is blend of different rums aged from 8 to 15 years. And don’t forget about double pot still distillation.

Color: beautiful deep amber color. But very clean, you can easily see all details through glass.

Nose: spicy, honey, molasses

Palate: very warm, little bit spicy, touch of wood and oak notes. Smoky and heavy aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Shotzone3 from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Surprised! How is this possible? Something called “gay” tasted duch great? I will never refuse cheers with this Gay 👍