Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10
655 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
33
154
283
132
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

655 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by juice062190 from United States with 5 ratings

I had the chance to try this on vacation in Barbados and really enjoyed it. On the nose there is a lot of oak, molasses and spices. On the palate there are small hints of fruit and vanilla. This rum has no added sugar so you might think it is reminiscent of either a cognac or whiskey on the finish. Overall it's not a bad rum. It is not too bad in a rum and coke either. If you like it sweet, this is not for you, but if you like that strong oak finish, I say go for it.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 25 ratings

I like it, well balanced, fruity, smooth and dry. Nice present for your friends, but I will try another next time.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 34 ratings

All in all very balanced but lacks a special twist.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Zaplik from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

First time I had this one wasn’t the best I’ve ever had but after few months I tried it once more and it got me down. Taste is so full and good. What I love the most is the colour.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by tare97 from Canada with 5 ratings

You really can't go wrong with this rum. Complex, balance and nice flavour profile. A respectable price point makes this rum a worthy everyday drink.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by George from Canada with 31 ratings

Perfect score for this XO. All around smooth, well balanced spices, oaky finish to it. Not too sweet. High class rum at an affordable price ! Cheers

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Kasper Meijer from Switzerland with 35 ratings

Love all the rums from Barbados! Mount gay is no exception. This is one of their top rums for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Denes from Hungary with 15 ratings

Smooth, intense, not very sweet, for me first a little bit similar taste to Appleton Estate 12, but the finish is different and long. Perfect for bourbon lovers, not my favourite, but high quality.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Airgood from Canada with 1 rating

Excellent Rum at a great price. Has a very pleasant aroma, the taste has a very nice natural sweetness to it, very smooth and easy to drink. I absolutely love this stuff. Get it while you still can because this blend is not being produced anymore. Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Pollux from Canada with 172 ratings

Rhum à boire seul. Vous pouvez commencer à apprendre à déguster du rhum avec ce produit.