Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10 (614 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
29
148
265
124
24

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


614 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 54 ratings

This is an incredibly dry rum that would be the perfect choice for whisky drinkers trying out rum for the first time. I like this one but i don't find it incredibly interesting. It does make a nice change from all the super sweet rums though.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 79 ratings

With orange, nuts and caramel on nose this sweet rum is really rich on taste and long.
Worth buying and enjoying.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Vlad from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Not a bad rum with very appealing smell but been a bit dissapointed by after taste, let it breath before drinking as it gets better

Ffffff

Posted almost 1 year ago by Taster from Switzerland with 113 ratings

English style, probably the oldest known rum destillery worldwide (1703)
Nose: Seems to be much sweeter than later on the tongue.
Palate: pretty harsh and sharp, with little volume. Not lasting long.
(Cal. 2019 Day 1)

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 145 ratings

This rum have been described by many as the perfect start for a newbies journey into rum. I have never tried it before, but wanted to see if this statement rings true.

Nose: Orange, prunes, oak, chocolate and vanilla
Taste: Sugar cane, honey, oak, molasses and a small hint of ripe banana hiding in the back
Overall: I must admit that the statement rings true, that this is a great rum for people, who want to begin their rum journey. Especially people who come from other spirits will find pleasure in this one as it is not overly sweet. However if you are completely new to spirits it might be a little harsh and bottles like Plantation XO and Zacapa 23 might be more up your alley, but none the less a great starter rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

Realy nice Rum
Mild an not too sweet.
Dry but not too much Wood.
Good nose.
Overall a Solid 8/10 (more a 8,5)

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 201 ratings

Næse af vanilje og lidt krydderi, dog lidt sprittet, hvis man stikker næsen for langt frem. Man aner lidt sødme til at starte med, men hurtigt bliver overtaget af egetræ og varme. Kan blive lidt voldsom, men en form for utæmmet sødme sidder i baggrunden skaber lidt balance. Ikke så slem som forventet, men desværre heller ikke god nok til barskabet. (1. December 2019 i 1423)

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Johnny from United States with 7 ratings

A bit too sweet for my taste. Definitely not worth the price of a second go around. There was the semblance of quality but it just eluded me. For $50, I can find better quality in any decent store.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Bertv1 from Belgium with 14 ratings

Spicy start, hints of vanilla - but well balanced and a long aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by GroumpH from France with 32 ratings

Au nez on a un rhum complexe
Un peu plus limité à la dégustation.
Arriere gout assez fort.