Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


557 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma from the bottle made it seem this was going to be a sweet rum but it is drier than I expected. There is a bit of a molasses flavor initially but then the burn hits masking any sweetness. Those who prefer a drier rum will probably enjoy sipping this neat but it's definitely an excellent mixer for me.

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus from Finland with 13 ratings

Hyvää rommia. Joskin itse tykkään Plantation tyyppisistä makeista enemmän. Tämä on kuitenkin rähän mennessä parasta laatuaan.

Posted over 3 years ago by Simon maloney from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

A fabulous rum from Barbados. Very smooth and doesn't need any mixers. High quality but a little sweet.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

A tad astringent initially but quite complex when given time to breathe. Praised for being a true rum without any added sugar or flavourings.

Posted almost 4 years ago by flund from Germany with 9 ratings

Geschmacksbombe! Weich, nicht süß, sehr aromatisch.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 23 ratings

Very good, but for the price i expected better. Definitely was not blown away

Posted almost 4 years ago by alain from Canada with 7 ratings

mon préféré... belle couleur, sucré, se boit straight sans glace.... excellent

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tony from United States with 7 ratings

I guess you could call this an every day sipper. It tasted artificial ily sweet to me. There is much better out there.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kevin from United States with 2 ratings

Medium color - VERY long on the palate - not too sweet, definite rum flavor unlike some rums that taste more like vanilla extract, perfume or molasses. This is the real deal in sipping rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

Love the nose of this rum especially the longer it sits in the glass. It gains more complexity. Molasses, cinnamon, oak and hints of citrusy fruit. Not to be mixed. Sip away my friends.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Zezacatku lehke zklamani, asi dane velkym ocekvavani. Muj prvni rum z Barbadosu. Dubova sladsi chut, kourova, peprovy konec. Ale za tu cenu jsem cekal vic...

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robca16 from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Vyborna koupe, doporucuji, spis whiskovy, malo sladky, nedoslazovany. Vune nasladla, jemna, je citit vanilka a dubove drevo. Chut jemna, kulata a hladka, na jazyku je citit drevo a staroba. Mohu doporucit jako zajimavou alternativu k podobme drahym rumum zacapa a legendario, kde se lisi hlavne svoji sladkosti

Posted almost 4 years ago by NX Correia from United States with 5 ratings

I like this better than old cask. It's very balanced, not as much fruit, drier than I expected, but in a good way. Price is great. It's not as versatile as eclipse, but it is more flavorful and definitely a great sipping rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

This Rum was a big surprise for us. It won the rum tasting that night from default, had the least in the bottle when the night was over. That's one way we judge the winner - whats left at the end of the night.
Very well balanced rum . Sweet, but not to sweet. Smooth, but with just a little bite.
Excellent rum.
Very good value for us, will keep a bottle in the cabinet.

Posted almost 4 years ago by wlr75 from United States with 24 ratings

I find this to be a good solid rum in which others should be judged by. The color, nose, palate and finish on this are all good. It has a bit more oak than I care for and keeps it from being my favorite sipper. I do enjoy this with cola or in a well refined cocktail where I want to find the rum. At around $40 a bottle, this is what other rums have to surpass in quality.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Olivier Raynaut from United States with 10 ratings

A very well balanced Rum that is sweet enough for being a great and easy sipper, but has various notes of quite spicy aromas like oak, wood and almost cinnamon. Not too sweet though to show its various aromas.
Definitely one to try out!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

Great rum to drink on every occasion. I read a lot about and also that there should be no sugar added? I don't no. It is not that sweet, but?
What I liked best are the taste of dryed fruits and the hints of caramel.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Timbo from New Zealand with 18 ratings

A mix of flavours like molasses, apples, and raisins. A few more I can't nail down. Pretty good on the rocks though.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Dale Wheelert from United States with 13 ratings

This was an ok rum, but my one experience with it was on a night that I wanted something better and it missed the mark

Posted about 4 years ago by andrea from Italy with 17 ratings

Buon rum anche se al palato speravo in qualcosa di meglio, buon finale di liquirizia

Posted about 4 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Very nice dry rum, not for those who only like the sweet rums.
This is quite dry, with a strong flavour from the bourbon casks coming trough.
Rate it slightly below the 1703, which is one of the best rums I tried so far.

Posted about 4 years ago by Kevin from United States with 26 ratings

My first thought upon initial sip was.. brandy... this tastes like brandy. A very good brandy but brandy none the less. My first glass was neat, with the second one, a week later, was with one small ice cube. I'm not sure if it was the chill or the small dilution but it's much better than neat.

Posted about 4 years ago by Vince from Canada with 57 ratings

À venir prochainement..............................

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

I don't get easily surprised...but this one did it. If I can put my reaction into one word it would be, smooth.

Despite the "XO" rating there's not much oak to this one. It's there...but its not as strong as you'd expect.

This is a rum that deserves to be from Barbados! It's not cheap but you'll understand the price tag when you enjoy the quality and taste. This is a rum drinker's rum.

Posted about 4 years ago by Nemir from New Zealand with 9 ratings

A last minute purchase with not much background on this rum. What an exciting and raw taste that took me by complete surprise. This has easily become one of my favourites.