Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10(644 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
31
152
277
131
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

644 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 25 ratings

I like it, well balanced, fruity, smooth and dry. Nice present for your friends, but I will try another next time.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 34 ratings

All in all very balanced but lacks a special twist.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Zaplik from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

First time I had this one wasn’t the best I’ve ever had but after few months I tried it once more and it got me down. Taste is so full and good. What I love the most is the colour.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by tare97 from Canada with 5 ratings

You really can't go wrong with this rum. Complex, balance and nice flavour profile. A respectable price point makes this rum a worthy everyday drink.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by George from Canada with 30 ratings

Perfect score for this XO. All around smooth, well balanced spices, oaky finish to it. Not too sweet. High class rum at an affordable price ! Cheers

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Kasper Meijer from Switzerland with 33 ratings

Love all the rums from Barbados! Mount gay is no exception. This is one of their top rums for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Denes from Hungary with 15 ratings

Smooth, intense, not very sweet, for me first a little bit similar taste to Appleton Estate 12, but the finish is different and long. Perfect for bourbon lovers, not my favourite, but high quality.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Airgood from Canada with 1 rating

Excellent Rum at a great price. Has a very pleasant aroma, the taste has a very nice natural sweetness to it, very smooth and easy to drink. I absolutely love this stuff. Get it while you still can because this blend is not being produced anymore. Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 162 ratings

Rhum à boire seul. Vous pouvez commencer à apprendre à déguster du rhum avec ce produit.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum does have a nice level of complexity to it and it is rather smooth as well. If you enjoy nice dry clean rums then this is a go to.