Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10
655 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
33
154
283
132
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

655 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by plukybrewster from Australia with 20 ratings

Love it neat or on ice. Might become my house rum.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 47 ratings

At the edge of being a sipping rum or not as it is dry and not that sweet (note I prefer non-sweet rums, so if sweet is your thing deduct 1 from my score) but well rounded, very down the middle in a good way

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Xavier Barcelona from Spain with 5 ratings

Hay rones más caros pero posiblemente no mucho mejores. De aroma excepcional y de gusto delicado donde el alcohol y azúcar están combinados en su justa medida de forma excepcional sin alterar su sabor a frutado y final fascinante.

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 10 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 150 ratings

Power full blend with a long finish. Not a sweet rum

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Nathan345 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

A very good rum especially if you like whisky, I made a mistake of trying it when I was a novice and was too overpowering. Good bajan though

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by haross from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Když jsem ho pil poprvé, měl jsem skoro dojem že piju bourbon. Použité sudy jsou v něm hodně znát, jejich až příliš výrazná chuť trochu přebíjí jinak vyváženou chuť. Kdo má rád whisky nebo bourbon, tomu bude chutnat. Já ho musím zkusit znovu.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Dries from Belgium with 19 ratings

What a quality rum for only €49 here! Really smooth and a tad sweet, highly recommended.

Small 10zpkh

Posted 10 months ago by Limsn from Poland with 18 ratings

I'm glad I decided to buy Mount Gay XO - less sweet than what I've tasted so far, mild flavour in the mouth, slightly heavier when swallowed. Rum at its best.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by 160 from Greece with 6 ratings

Yeap! It's not sweet so it's the kind of Rum I like.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 11 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

First time was a shock, not sweet subtle rum, this is full dodged manly cowboy rum. Takes a bit getting used to compared to Appleton or regular Mt Gay. I appreciate the depth and full bodied experience. Not for everyone but works for me.