Posting your rating...
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.7/10
655 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
33
154
283
132
28

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

655 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Nice rum, distinct vanilla and caramel taste. Slightly bitter if I remember well. There is always something I can't recognize that can't me love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Fluid from Singapore with 8 ratings

Mount Gay XO is an extremely solid sipping rum, it is my all time favourite (after Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and after Santa Teresa 1796). It is less sweet compared with the others

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by wagner89 from Romania with 7 ratings

I like the aftertaste and the overall flavour, but it's hard for me to enjoy just due to the harshness of the rum, it feels rather coarse down the throatto me.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 48 ratings

This rum is very smooth and yet a bit dry. Lots of butterscotch, vanilla and some spices on the nose. Let it rest for a few minutes and some of the alcoholic character goes away. The taste is heaven, some sweet fruity (without being sugar) tones to start with, then some burned sugar cane, vanilla and it all ends up with more spicy tones and lingers for a while. Most def one of my favourites!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by RumJunkie from United States with 22 ratings

Alcohol on the nose and on the tongue. Not the smooth sipper I was hoping for. Sadly similar to a Myers Style rum but at a price that was higher than I would like to spend on a mixing rum. Disappointed

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Xpommy from Australia with 14 ratings

Trying to get past the sweet rums which I’ve been tasting as a beginner. Didn’t really knock me off my feet. I put a pinch of brown sugar in it and then it was enjoyable. I guess I’m still stuck in the sweet rum stage !

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Makal from Sweden with 5 ratings

Im reading the other reviews and im just myself starting my rum voyage. Ive now learned that im more inclined towards the somewhat sweeter Matusalem gran reserve, solera 23 or the Plantation barbados xo 20th anniversary. With this said the Mount gay xo does what it does perfectly. It is less sweet, it is more distinct and i like it.

Small alien 200 200

Posted 9 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 74 ratings

Powerful smell, touch of caramel. Very intense initial taste with loads of oak and a slight sweetness. Unfortunately, the Initial sensation dies off too fast and isn't followed by much else

Small img 20201109 183045

Posted 9 months ago by Michal Ernest from Czech Republic with 55 ratings

Tento rum mne malinko překvapil svojí drsností s pomalým dozvukem chuti na konci sklenice. Řádně jsem si jej vychutnal, nicméně při přímém srovnání mi chutnal o něco malinko více Mount Gay Black Barrel.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by iaramphal from United States with 9 ratings

Pleasant rum to sip on. Noticeable vanilla aromas and very smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by PatrickW from Belgium with 14 ratings

Light amber, spicy, vanilla aroma, silky round taste