Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Distillery Collection No2 Barbet rum

Diplomatico Distillery Collection No2 Barbet

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

7.2/10 (28 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
13
10

Rate Diplomatico Distillery Collection No2 Barbet

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


28 Diplomatico Distillery Collection No2 Barbet ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Lilius.P from Denmark with 23 ratings

I am still in the sweet rum range, and this one took some getting uden to, but i find some very interesting taste notes in this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

Really good, totally different taste to compare with No1.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Michael from United States with 12 ratings

Diplomatico Distillery Collection No 2. Barbet Rum !

Quick review:

On the nose- floral notes with vanilla, oak, toffee and bourbon.
First sip- a welcomed mellow burn right off the bat with rich dark flavors such as smoke, oak, tobacco and dark chocolate.
The finish has a sharp burn that only lasts for a moment or two but not at all over powering. Really reminds me a lot of a sweet bourbon.
When diplo made this rum it was a shot at all the sweet haters. They were going for much more of an unadulterated rum taste with less added sugar/color. Not the best rum I've ever had but not mad I made the purchase. Made from a continuous column copper still and aged in American oak barrels.
Na Zdrowie 😎🥃🤙

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Aroma of this run is full of tropical fruits. Taste then offer sugar cane, wood and citrus fruits.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Xpommy from Australia with 14 ratings

Didn’t taste as good as the no1 but me but smelt a bit nicer. Didn’t really enjoy it due to being new to rum. Really wanted to like these rums but just not ready yet so it’ll stay in the cupboard and maybe when I come back I’ll understand it better

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 188 ratings

It's again recognizeable as a Diplomatico, like the No. 1. But it has some younger aromas and herbs with earth in the smell. The taste is not sweet as RE and it's stronger and darker like a real pirat.
If you love RE maybe you got disappointed, but if you love strong rum then you need this extra punch in your mouth.

Nose: caramel, banana, vanilla, herbs (like Botran 15 or Zacapa 2014), some peach, citrus, barrel/earth
Taste: Caramel, burned sugar, banana, dry fruits, vanilla, raisins and wood, spice, citrus
Finish: middle long, spicy and bitter (woody)

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Fruit: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Value (52€): 3/5

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Flamings from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

More complex, sweeter and smoother than number 2. Agree that it could’ve been aged longer, but still a very good rum

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 72 ratings

Hey Diplomatico, put it back into the system. Let it stand for extra decade and let this wonderful taste to grow up ).

Pretty exotic, fruty and organically dry at the same glass.

But, the cons:
-1 alien alcohol on the nose;
-1 too subtle notes; short after taste;
-90$.

Not sure whether I need consume episodes 1 and 3 of this serial or see something more classic.

Edit: don't let it stand and breathe, drink ASAP ). Aroma is the best at 47°.
Incrementing the score.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

A mix between No1 and No3, between bitterness and sourness, this is probably the best balanced of the bunch. Otherwise tropical fruit nose and flavor.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Skegga from Sweden with 29 ratings

Lagom sötma fruktig o mjuk och len i smaken. Vacker färg

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 309 ratings

nicely warming with fruit, raisin, vanilla and coconut tones
sweeter and smoother and more complex than No.1
7.5 points