Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Distillery Collection No1 Batch Kettle rum

Diplomatico Distillery Collection No1 Batch Kettle

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

7.4/10 (42 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
18
14
3
1

Rate Diplomatico Distillery Collection No1 Batch Kettle

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


42 Diplomatico Distillery Collection No1 Batch Kettle ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 166 ratings

It’s pricey. But this is very good rum. I agree with other reviewers that this is stronger. And that is GOOD ! Because the balance I there too. Thus is a crafted distillation. Berserk and complex. Superb on ice. Also very good neat. Has some smokiness. No sweetness. Smooth baby, smooth.
Currant and black cherry notes. Crisp and chewy. Great body. Finish is really clean but a little short. I may rate this 9 later. Very strong 8.5. Outstanding sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joel from Canada with 5 ratings

This app s a special rum with other type of caractère. Very good

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

if its Diplomatico it's good that's just a given. This rum is a stronger more robust rum, very little if any sweetness, you can stand a fork in it. Dark fruit and esters on the nose. After finish is the best part of the rum, a touch of bitterness and a bite of alcohol will let you know that you have partook. I liked the No2 best.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Diplomaticos from 2000-2002 are gone, so I tried this new special one. At first it hits you with a lot of alcohol in the nose, but also sweetness and various aromas. If you let it breathe for a few minutes, you discover a very neat rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 89 ratings

Aroma of wild flowers from garden, sugar cane and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Xpommy from Australia with 14 ratings

New to rum so thought I’d try this. It was little bit smoother than the no2 but didn’t smell as nice . Taste is a bit much for me so didn’t enjoy it but that’s probably due to my inexperience with rum and only really liking sweeter rums at the moment. Maybe later I may be able to appreciate what the others taste that I currently can’t .

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Lamantaalcoll from United States with 13 ratings

really good and tasty rum, nothing withe the exclusiva reserva, less sweet a lot stronger.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 246 ratings

It's clearly a Diplomatico, stronger than RE and less sweet nose with same aromas. The taste is also less sweet.
It's recognizeable, I'm not sure if it's better than RE. For sweet rum lovers definitely not.
It's still not a natural rum. But if you like RE aromas and you don't like much sweetness you can go for this one.
The nose is quite strong and dark. With caramel, raisins, ripe banana, wood and earthy cask.
The taste represents the nose, it's also very dark with raisins, burned sugar, ripe banana, earhts and tannins from the wood. If you are more experienced and you think the RE is boring you can go a step further with this rum.
If you are new to rum and you think you will find in this one a more enjoyable RE, I must disappoint you. This rum needs more attention, it's more difficult to enjoy and you need more experience.
I would rate it with 80 points.

Smell: caramel, vanilla, raisins, ripe banana, burned sugar, wood, earthy cask
Taste: burned sugar, vanilla, ripe banana, raisins, wood/barrel (some earth), spice, citrus, tannins

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Value (50€): 2.5/5

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 82 ratings

Canadian government put 44.1° label over the 47° print. That is true, it is easy to drink, just a little alcohol burn.
Original fruity, a bit salty taste, which stays for a long while.
But, for the 90$ you can get more and better.
In side by side comparison with Appleton 8 I prefer Appleton.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Maximum Bob (PREMIUM) from United States with 8 ratings

It is good, but "There's not enough there there" to jump ahead of many others I have had at this price. Beautiful burnt caramel color with a very alcohol forward nose that frankly takes quite a while to dissipate. Labeled at 47%, I would guess it over 54% at first taste. It lingered and somewhat negated a lot of the note character on the tongue for at least 20 or 30 seconds. It gives way to a woody, subdued stone fruit that finished in a nice balance, but never really wows enough to offset the long powerful alcohol bite to start for me. Good? Yes. $80 GOOD? Not sure. After sitting on the table for 20 minutes the remainder of the glass becomes more balanced from beginning to end and I would say a 7.4 is a decent average rating. But as the price point neighbors some of the Foursquares I've been drinking lately, I long for a similar experience of a heavy nosed bottle with a payoff of more substantial notes past the burn. More There There.