Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10 (348 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
7
44
126
129
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


348 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Koozieguy225 from United States with 6 ratings

Can’t name a better rum to sip on while getting back to basics with a couple homies.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

Of the rums you can find in a poorly stocked grocery store this is one of the better ones.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Basic rum with a good balance of spices. Nose is a bit aggressive initially then get towards chocolate and vanilla aromas. Mouth is balanced, slightly oaky and aligned with the nose. Alcoholic tail..

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

This is a great rum for mixing. However, I typically drink rum neat. So here is my description. It has a mild alcohol scent. Drinking it I notice at first a strong punch of alcohol, but it only lingers a few seconds from the finish. After the first few sips I barely notice the alcohol, and continue to enjoy the rum. At the finish I taste a light vanilla hint. The viscosity is light-bodied and thin. It has a golden-saffron color. Overall, smooth and enjoyable for the price. Usually the best choice at poorly stocked bars. Not the best rum, but certainly not the worst!

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Cliff from United States with 8 ratings

This rum is meant for mixing and not to be sipped. Good for a rum and cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

I love Mount Gay rums, I have the Old Cask 1703 (10/10), I have the XO (8/10) and this one I just bought while travelling and you can still enjoy sipping it... has a lot of flavors for the price and still no added sugar.

Its is a good rum... with Mount Gay you never are disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

This rum is solid enough, and when I first started with rum, I thought it quite good. Until I tasted some other Bajan rums. Not to disrespect-- more to add context. It's good, but not great.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Peter Raymond from Canada with 9 ratings

This is a good utility Rum. I like it mixed with Ginger Ale and a slice of Lime.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

This isn't a bad sipping rum for those with a few dollars in your wallet. Has a bit of an alcohol bite at first but quickly burns off. Pretty good flavor and worth a return over some lower brands.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Russell from United States with 25 ratings

So I am in the liquor store, looking over the poor selections of rums and some guy buzz's in front of me grabs a bottle of Monarch rum ,$ 7.95 , bottom shelf, so I say Hey for $4.00 dollars more you can get Cruzan made in the carribean, not in Hood River ,Oregon, here I'll even give you the $4, So he looks at me like I'm nuts rushes up to counter and leaves to go start a fire with the Monarch lighter fluid.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Like the Cockspur, easy to pick up, a decent rum for a night of drinking