Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


320 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Basic rum with a good balance of spices. Nose is a bit aggressive initially then get towards chocolate and vanilla aromas. Mouth is balanced, slightly oaky and aligned with the nose. Alcoholic tail..

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

Of the rums you can find in a poorly stocked grocery store this is one of the better ones.

Posted over 3 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

This is a great rum for mixing. However, I typically drink rum neat. So here is my description. It has a mild alcohol scent. Drinking it I notice at first a strong punch of alcohol, but it only lingers a few seconds from the finish. After the first few sips I barely notice the alcohol, and continue to enjoy the rum. At the finish I taste a light vanilla hint. The viscosity is light-bodied and thin. It has a golden-saffron color. Overall, smooth and enjoyable for the price. Usually the best choice at poorly stocked bars. Not the best rum, but certainly not the worst!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Cliff from United States with 8 ratings

This rum is meant for mixing and not to be sipped. Good for a rum and cola.

Posted about 3 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

I love Mount Gay rums, I have the Old Cask 1703 (10/10), I have the XO (8/10) and this one I just bought while travelling and you can still enjoy sipping it... has a lot of flavors for the price and still no added sugar.

Its is a good rum... with Mount Gay you never are disappointed.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

This rum is solid enough, and when I first started with rum, I thought it quite good. Until I tasted some other Bajan rums. Not to disrespect-- more to add context. It's good, but not great.

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter Raymond from Canada with 9 ratings

This is a good utility Rum. I like it mixed with Ginger Ale and a slice of Lime.

Posted about 3 years ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

This isn't a bad sipping rum for those with a few dollars in your wallet. Has a bit of an alcohol bite at first but quickly burns off. Pretty good flavor and worth a return over some lower brands.

Posted over 3 years ago by Russell from United States with 25 ratings

So I am in the liquor store, looking over the poor selections of rums and some guy buzz's in front of me grabs a bottle of Monarch rum ,$ 7.95 , bottom shelf, so I say Hey for $4.00 dollars more you can get Cruzan made in the carribean, not in Hood River ,Oregon, here I'll even give you the $4, So he looks at me like I'm nuts rushes up to counter and leaves to go start a fire with the Monarch lighter fluid.

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Like the Cockspur, easy to pick up, a decent rum for a night of drinking

Posted over 3 years ago by boogaloodude from Belgium with 11 ratings

tastes much older than it is , and that's a compliment

Posted over 4 years ago by Joel from United States with 9 ratings

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Posted 6 days ago by Ash_Scriv from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Not too shabby, not overly tasty but would buy again, solid rum.

Posted 17 days ago by Stonge1954 (PREMIUM) from United States with 3 ratings

I’m trying to avoid the ‘sugared’ rums, and this brand is perfect, like Appleton’s. Fine for sipping over ice, or as a base for cocktails.

Posted 11 months ago by Paul from Australia with 105 ratings

Not tooo bad for a gold coloured rum, cheap n easy to drink, you could do worse

Posted 12 months ago by Codogg81 from United States with 10 ratings

This is what old time rum from Barbados tastes like. No added sugars or flavors. Just buttery, slightly oakie, banana peel goodness. Solid mixer as it should be.

Posted 12 months ago by Zoey from United States with 7 ratings

I still like this one by it's self, but i got bored of it after awhile, taste pretty good in a coke or a daciri. I still like it for the price

Posted over 1 year ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Mount gay rum Eclipse je skvelý rum, ktorý sa hodí do miešaných nápojov. Samostatne je piteľný avšak len v obmedzenom objeme.

Fľaša: dizajn fľaše je typický pre barové pulty. Hrubé oblé sklo s typickými znakmi producenta. Fľaša je ozvláštnená embosovaným logom producenta na etikete a popisom produktu na skle fľaše.

Vôňa: vo vôni cítiť štipku vanilky ale aj kože, vône prebíja alkoholová aróma.

Chuť: ostrosť alkoholu trocha prebíja ostatné vône.

Farba: zlatistá

Záver: ide o rum, určený hlavne pre miešané nápoje, mne chutil v dark & stormy a cuba libre. Odporúčam.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ian Storey from Canada with 18 ratings

Tasty, light with a sharp aftertaste
Clearly part of the Mount Gay family - the Eclipse is a solid everyday rum choice.

Harsher then the Eclipse Silver and less flavourful then the XO it’s a solid choice for those that like rum

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rhombic from Spain with 11 ratings

Golden colour. Vanilla aroma with caramel and some fruitiness, with a prominent alcoholic note. More clearly alcoholic in mouth, in an unbalanced way. The flavours are predominantly oak and banana, with some biscuit-like hints. It starts off quite harsh in terms of the alcohol bite, but after a bit it is not that bad after all. I can imagine it being better when mixed, perhaps. Relatively dry, mild to medium body, borderline sipping rum.

Posted about 2 years ago by Ricardo from Switzerland with 4 ratings

A few flavours of caramel and vanilla but overshadowed by the alcohol taste. Better to be mixed.

Posted over 2 years ago by Koozieguy225 from United States with 6 ratings

Can’t name a better rum to sip on while getting back to basics with a couple homies.

Posted almost 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Vůně je suchá, nevýrazná, s vanilkou a hřebíčkem. Lihová, nevyzrálá, snad ještě zaznamenávám citrusy. (72 b)
Chuť: Hm...tak blbě nejen voní, ale i chutná. Citrusy, nakyslost, suchost, dřevnatost a seno. (72 b)
Body: 72/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno při posezení s kamarádem v českolipském Baru/Kavárně Kocour. Je to takové nijaké, dřevité, hodně slabý zážitek, ale rum to asi připomíná. To v Božkově umějí z náhražek udělat lepší pití.

Posted 2 days ago by Nerdmiami from United States with 3 ratings

First whiff had me opening my eyes concerned about the aggressive alcohol aroma, but as I took a sip I was relieved to find out it is much more warming than it let's on the nose. Definately tasting the age, and for the price, this isnt bad at all