Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.4/10 (346 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
7
44
124
129
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


346 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

This is a great rum for mixing. However, I typically drink rum neat. So here is my description. It has a mild alcohol scent. Drinking it I notice at first a strong punch of alcohol, but it only lingers a few seconds from the finish. After the first few sips I barely notice the alcohol, and continue to enjoy the rum. At the finish I taste a light vanilla hint. The viscosity is light-bodied and thin. It has a golden-saffron color. Overall, smooth and enjoyable for the price. Usually the best choice at poorly stocked bars. Not the best rum, but certainly not the worst!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Russ Meredith from United States with 12 ratings

Not over bearing or bland, just a good character. Soft nose, mellow on the tongue, vanilla notes and well mannered. I use it for as a core rum for tiki drinks

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by nofa93 from Canada with 7 ratings

Very sippable. Hardly any burn. Really enjoyed my first experience with this one.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by FURBZ from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Good rum for everyday.
Along the lines of your Sailor Jerry rums.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by poly.pop from United States with 28 ratings

Good classic bajan flavor at a reasonable price but lacks the depth of other similar rums in its pricepoint (e.g. Doorly's). A serviceable if not somewhat understated mixer, very good in Boston Rum Punch.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by TheRumRunner from United States with 5 ratings

This rum is really like the swiss army knife of rums. If you want an okay sipper, this will do just fine, with some good flavors to go with a fairly strong alcohol burn. It won't blow you away, but it's also perfectly manageable.

If you're more of the mixing type, this rum is great for that. Since it's not overly expensive, you can dump whatever you want on it with a guilt free conscience, knowing that you're not watering down an exclusive vintage. At the same time, because it does have some good flavor, it adds some character to whatever drink you put it in.

For anyone looking for a middle ground rum at a decent price, this could definitely fit the bill.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Pressed orange juice, pleasantly fruity with molasses and toasted oak at a distant. Spices and eucalyptus with minty comes along. Full and smog-y that remains thick and relatively bold without being too sweet. Smogs building up and stays creamy with vanilla and chocolate. (85/19)

P- Mineral-lic with subtle coastal breeze. Caramelized orange but singular. Can be better but feel wee boring and flattened by the dilution, 43% or 46% might elevate and enhance the flavour better. (83/17)

F- Medium, lasting peppery with dry mouthfeel. But again, were restricted and light. (83/17)

B/B- 84/18 Good, simple and relaxing rum nonetheless. Will drown with any sizes of ice.

Weighted Rate- 71pt
— at Kill Devil KL.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by mstephens55 from United States with 16 ratings

When I was young, I was taken aside by an older friend who introduced me to Mount Gay Eclipse as a quality alternative to Bacardi. It is a good, solid quality rum, worth keeping around for mixed drinks made with rum. I’ve moved on to greasipping rums, but will always have a soft spot for Mount Gay Eclipse.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Pamponiros from Greece with 14 ratings

Want a nice gold rum for your collection and/or to shake some nice coktails? Get this one. Really smooth and as sweet as it should, you ll love using it. Tasting it neat, you can feel the alcohol a lot but that doesn't appear once you mix it with couple ingredients. Try it in a mai tai and you ll be surprised how good it blends.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Theezvl from Netherlands with 2 ratings

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Jeff beales from United Kingdom with 24 ratings

I like it but found the taste underwhelming and not that remarkable