Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10 (353 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
7
45
129
130
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


353 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Tanya Kempe-Tummon from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

If you're served this in a pub you're lucky! A standard rum, but very tasty nonetheless

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Murz from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

It's a good solid mixing rum readily available, and I always have a bottle at home. For its price point is punching above its weight, and far more enjoyable to drink than the supermarket rums that sit alongside it on the shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by chuck from United States with 25 ratings

Can usually get this rum at most stores which makes it somewhat redeeming. It has a decent flavor and a mild burn.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by The Answer is Rum from United States with 10 ratings

A great rum at a great price. Next time I'll buy the 1.75L bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Big Gaz from United Kingdom with 1 rating

A good value all rounder, not too sweet. Big on the banana and vanilla. Great value for below £20

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Daniel.delvalle from United States with 19 ratings

The bottle that I have appears to be a little different than the bottle that's on this website. But I'm going to assume it's the same Rum. I enjoyed it when doing slow sipping shots oh, and I noticed a little difference in taste when I put it on the rocks. It seemed to bring out some hints of vanilla but I didn't notice before that. Overall it's a halfway decent rum. I would not use this as a mixer because it tastes fine as it is.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 28 ratings

For a commercially available gold rum, this is the obvious choice. If you're in the supermarket, this is likely the best gold rum available to you for mixing.
Notes of caramel and a distant oak smoke with a hint of clove and allspice.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by VodkaRumTabs from United States with 4 ratings

I like the aroma and taste. Good rum to swig straight but not too sip unless it’s on the rocks. Mixes well with Dr Pepper, coke and root beer, would recommend.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by WW from Netherlands with 32 ratings

This is one of the rums that got me exploring the rum world. A lot better than the standard Bacardi's i drank before.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

Any mount Gay rum is good this is a really nice Rum

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

This is where the Mount Gay journey begins. If you were to compare this rum to an aged premium rum, you would be disappointed, but when you compare it to the same price point of say an Appletons it stands up well. Smooth enough to drink straight or to mix with quality ginger and lime, of price is important than this rum has a lot to recommend it.