Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
386 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
10
48
142
137
27
9
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

386 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 84 ratings

Sharp taste reminiscent of Jamaican rum. Not my taste, as not sweet enough with off flavour.

Small 5c36bd2c 57a5 4ac5 83ba b78379138a15

Posted 3 months ago by Ravanagh from Australia with 22 ratings

The best thing that can be said about this rum is: it’ll help you forget your troubles!

As for the taste ... not good, not bad. Very middle of the road.

But if you’re travelling the Caribbean from your arm-chair, tumbler in hand, you’ll want to make a stop in Barbados.

I’m glad I went there, and perhaps I’ve been a bit hard on it, but I won’t be going back — there are just too many other exciting destinations out there for us intrepid drinkers!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by V7NTY from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Rum how it’s done for every day enjoyment. Light amber in colour with a light Demerara aroma from my favourite holiday destination. As my friend Max who is my rum sommelier, Mount Gay set the bar

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by DerMassi from Germany with 15 ratings

Pour 2 drops of water in it and then be surprised of the effect.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Gumbopirate from United States with 9 ratings

This is our go to for easy cocktails...usually serve with a slash of ginger ale and lots of lime.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Osbornello from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Its enjoyable neat or with a mixer, but not a stand out.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by MatLen from Greece with 15 ratings

My first rum from Barbados. Before mixing, had it on a rock with a slice of orange. I was nicely surprised! Eclipse is a fair mixer specially with lime-pergamon juice and yes was also a very tasty "dark and stormy". Great choice as a starter to rums more than just a cheap grocery store poor quality mixers.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 47 ratings

Bit of burn, but of brown sugar, nothing else. Dull.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by IceStorm from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Disappointing. Can't drink it neat, it's a push to use for mixing, likely to end up in the drain tbh, won't ever buy again, but willing to try their higher end bottles

Small img 20210330 085631

Posted 4 months ago by SPEHUN from Hungary with 28 ratings

Ebben az árkategóriàban van jobb választás, pl: Santiago de Cuba anejo.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Rowdy1 from United States with 11 ratings

Definitely not a sipping rum. Can add some depth and flavor to a mixed drink.