Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
400 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
10
50
147
143
28
9
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

400 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Aiden from United States with 14 ratings

I like Barbadian rums quite a bit. This one isn't the purest or the tastiest, but it still has that characteristic dry, whisky-like quality to it. Certainly not a sugar bomb, and quite enjoyable neat or mixed, but doesn't offer anything special, especially with R. L. Seale 10 Year competing in the same style and price range. It's a rum in purgatory in my opinion, where it's good to drink with friends at bars with little selection, but it's just not a keeper for the rum shelf at home.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Magic from Netherlands with 15 ratings

this is one of the best rums to drink withe cola

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Bruce Jones from United States with 17 ratings

Nice rum

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by RumSteve from United States with 15 ratings

my go to product when using this to make spiced rum.

As a product by it-self a mixer for drinks. I wouldn't use this for sipping, a little harsh. Go to the Mount Gay XO for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Flavor is excellent and only lacks depth/strength for a higher score. Haven't had the Black yet, but am expecting it will solve this problem. Can be had on the rocks if you don't let the ice melt at all. Terrific mixer, particularly with coconut water or cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 193 ratings

A good mixer, but the upscale Mount Gay products provide no reason to sip this. I like the Speical Reserve and Sugar Cane Rum as well to mix.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Personal fave in the go to price bracket. Easy drinking, easy mixing versatile amber with a light smoky, vanilla edge and tropical fruits.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Hugh from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

A good solid rum with an entertaining name.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Tanya Kempe-Tummon from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

If you're served this in a pub you're lucky! A standard rum, but very tasty nonetheless

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Biggsy from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I'm a fan of Mount Gay Eclipse. Great smooth taste and good flavour. Not the best in the world but a solid choice.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 34 ratings

If you're looking for a gold rum that's light, this really isn't bad. I tried it on the rocks, and it didn't turn me on... or off. But I'm sure it's much better in a mixer.