Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
393 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
10
49
145
139
28
9
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

393 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Antonius from Czech Republic with 8 ratings

My third bottle of rum ever. I did a bit of a mistake having XO first (which I loved) and Eclipse after so I was quite dissapointed. Even I prefer to sip this one is rather for mixing with coke. Still not a bad rum. Pale color, strong taste.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by atmospherics from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

For me, this is a really solid rum. Maybe not the most exclusive option, but very affordable and an excellent inclusion to a cocktail. Holds a special place in my heart as a rum I first encountered and drank on the beaches of Barbados.

Ffffff

Posted 13 days ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 53 ratings

Drinking this neat is underwhelming. The nose is more like whiskey than rum and it tastes a little thin, or lacking some of the robustness that the XO has.

It evolves into a pleasant sweetness with very little burn and a honey aftertaste. This would shine in cocktails where a light rum would normally be used.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Yatoss from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Cheap and cheerful, a bit too spirity for neat drinking, but mixes well

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Ahaegema from Belgium with 5 ratings

Medicinal, hay, crispy, little bit of fudge, fresh, bit of caramel, chocolate

Small 20170131 170523 hdr

Posted 29 days ago by PietRum from South Africa with 1 rating

Being new to this I give my own opinion, love this rum and most probably the 1st one I tried neat. Love the taste neat and with a mixer.

Small img 20210329 184903 919

Posted 29 days ago by Krisbromkeyart from United Kingdom with 38 ratings

Lots of flavour, I use mount gay to cook with, brings loads of flavour to the dish

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by RumMama3 from United States with 5 ratings

its a good mixer. Sipping not so much. Its not that it tastes bad its just basic with no complexity.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Lokentaz from France with 7 ratings

Rhum aux beaux reflets dorés, a l'arôme discret et léger en bouche. Plutôt agréable. Peu de longueur en bouche.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by lholz13 from United States with 27 ratings

A great deal! Truly versatile. Recommended as an everyday (within reason) drinker and perfect entry level rum.

Small 20190918 162911

Posted 2 months ago by RanDanTBC (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Bought in supermarket, would buy again but wouldn't actively look for it. Smooth enough for a and didn't have any sharp aftertaste.