Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
386 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
10
48
142
137
27
9
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

386 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 84 ratings

Sharp taste reminiscent of Jamaican rum. Not my taste, as not sweet enough with off flavour.

Ffffff

Posted 13 days ago by Lokentaz from France with 5 ratings

Rhum aux beaux reflets dorés, a l'arôme discret et léger en bouche. Plutôt agréable. Peu de longueur en bouche.

Ffffff

Posted 30 days ago by lholz13 from United States with 27 ratings

A great deal! Truly versatile. Recommended as an everyday (within reason) drinker and perfect entry level rum.

Small 20190918 162911

Posted 1 month ago by RanDanTBC (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Bought in supermarket, would buy again but wouldn't actively look for it. Smooth enough for a and didn't have any sharp aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Pbraunsc from United States with 16 ratings

This will due in a pinch for on the rocks imbibing. Not something i would let my friends drink unless as a mixer with juice or cola.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Sock from Netherlands with 16 ratings

this one got me into rum! nothing special but the first time i had tasted it i knew this would be my favourite spirit

Small 9bc0c73d 0d6c 46c0 a6a6 e4d6ef43c27e

Posted 2 months ago by Corneliusl from Norway with 19 ratings

This is an ok rum. Not great for sipping, but can be put to use in a tiki drink or two.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by soul7lt from United States with 1 rating

its not bad, pretty doable, i would get it again...

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Polish pirate from Poland with 17 ratings

Słabo!!! Tani ale co z tego .. nic tam nie ma . Wali spirytem... Nie warto w sumie bo są tańsze na tym poziomie

Small minha orix%c3%a1

Posted 3 months ago by BigChief17 (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 41 ratings

For a true, West Indian rum punch: lime, raw sugar, nutmeg and proprietary additions. This is meant only with affection, and is not a slight at all.

Not a sipper by any stretch, but this is the only rum I want for my homemade concoction.

Small inigo

Posted 3 months ago by OdysseusUnbound from Canada with 27 ratings

This might not be my first choice for a sipping rum, yet it's perfectly fine on the rocks. It works well in a variety of cocktails too. There's vanilla, banana, a bit of oak, and a general "rumminess" but nothing jumps out at you. Bonus points for being an honest, unadulterated rum.