Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
388 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
10
48
144
137
27
9
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

388 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Antonius from Czech Republic with 8 ratings

My third bottle of rum ever. I did a bit of a mistake having XO first (which I loved) and Eclipse after so I was quite dissapointed. Even I prefer to sip this one is rather for mixing with coke. Still not a bad rum. Pale color, strong taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by RumSteve from United States with 15 ratings

my go to product when using this to make spiced rum.

As a product by it-self a mixer for drinks. I wouldn't use this for sipping, a little harsh. Go to the Mount Gay XO for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Flavor is excellent and only lacks depth/strength for a higher score. Haven't had the Black yet, but am expecting it will solve this problem. Can be had on the rocks if you don't let the ice melt at all. Terrific mixer, particularly with coconut water or cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

A good mixer, but the upscale Mount Gay products provide no reason to sip this. I like the Speical Reserve and Sugar Cane Rum as well to mix.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Personal fave in the go to price bracket. Easy drinking, easy mixing versatile amber with a light smoky, vanilla edge and tropical fruits.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Hugh from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

A good solid rum with an entertaining name.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Tanya Kempe-Tummon from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

If you're served this in a pub you're lucky! A standard rum, but very tasty nonetheless

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Biggsy from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I'm a fan of Mount Gay Eclipse. Great smooth taste and good flavour. Not the best in the world but a solid choice.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 34 ratings

If you're looking for a gold rum that's light, this really isn't bad. I tried it on the rocks, and it didn't turn me on... or off. But I'm sure it's much better in a mixer.