Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
388 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
10
48
144
137
27
9
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

388 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Antonius from Czech Republic with 8 ratings

My third bottle of rum ever. I did a bit of a mistake having XO first (which I loved) and Eclipse after so I was quite dissapointed. Even I prefer to sip this one is rather for mixing with coke. Still not a bad rum. Pale color, strong taste.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

On the rocks tastes like nothing but alcohol. Almost no flavor, which is not what I expected from a non-white rum. Very fire-y. So-so with cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

I agree with a previous reviewer who said it is harsh, but a decent mixer. As a sipper it is bad. As a mixer it is a pretty good rum. I would have no problem keeping a bottle of this around for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Rumbum from Australia with 4 ratings

Goes with everything. Has that Jamaican standard taste. Can't go wrong with this one

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Dai from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Can be found in any supermarket. Don't pass it up if you are looking for a nice mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

Starting our own distillery, we had to try all of the rums we could get our hands on to figure out our own flavor profiles. This was or rum of choice before we decided to make our own. Trying it straight was an eye opener, very harsh, almost undrinkable but in mixed is a great rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Simple Man from United States with 10 ratings

Many times in a bar it's Bacardi as the gold, I start looking for the Mount Gay as it seems to be the next popular gold around these parts. It is smoother and more flavorful than the well rum or the Bacardi. It lacks depth, but still brings forth the West Indian earthiness.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Bill Clemens from United States with 10 ratings

Great as a mixer with Coke and Lime. Nothing jumped out at me when I sipped it with ice. It's nice but simple.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

Excellent for mixing with coke or tonic. I prefer mine mixed 50/50 with tonic and a lime. I find it a bit harsh to drink straight up but as a mixer it's excellent with great aroma's and not overly sweet like Captain.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Magic from Netherlands with 15 ratings

this is one of the best rums to drink withe cola

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Bruce Jones from United States with 17 ratings

Nice rum