Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
383 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
10
48
140
137
27
8
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

383 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 80 ratings

Sharp taste reminiscent of Jamaican rum. Not my taste, as not sweet enough with off flavour.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Wonderful with coke.....drinkable on it's own. You should never allow yourself to run out!

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

This is another Barbados rum that is worth the money. It's not too sweet, and it is just smooth enough to enjoy on the rocks. Makes a great drink mixed with Vernor's ginger ale.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

This is my go too rum. Its good with cola or fruity drinks. Too harsh for sipping or on the rocks with a lime twist. This is a far superior choice to any Bacardi offering for every day use. Unfortunate what im hearing about the companys problems in Barbados.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Thos from United States with 13 ratings

I had higher hopes for this rum, it was harsher than I expected but it is still good as a mixing rum

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by YY from Japan with 9 ratings

Perhaps mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

On the rocks tastes like nothing but alcohol. Almost no flavor, which is not what I expected from a non-white rum. Very fire-y. So-so with cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

I agree with a previous reviewer who said it is harsh, but a decent mixer. As a sipper it is bad. As a mixer it is a pretty good rum. I would have no problem keeping a bottle of this around for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Rumbum from Australia with 4 ratings

Goes with everything. Has that Jamaican standard taste. Can't go wrong with this one

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Dai from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Can be found in any supermarket. Don't pass it up if you are looking for a nice mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

Starting our own distillery, we had to try all of the rums we could get our hands on to figure out our own flavor profiles. This was or rum of choice before we decided to make our own. Trying it straight was an eye opener, very harsh, almost undrinkable but in mixed is a great rum.