Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.4/10 (337 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
7
44
116
128
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


337 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

8d291bf9b56b449578800690faef9610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

One of the better cheap rums. Wouldn't buy this one again but it is good enough to make me want to try one of the higher end Mount Gay rums.

50f50d0f50948248b564c275e23fa3b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Rhombic from Spain with 12 ratings

Golden colour. Vanilla aroma with caramel and some fruitiness, with a prominent alcoholic note. More clearly alcoholic in mouth, in an unbalanced way. The flavours are predominantly oak and banana, with some biscuit-like hints. It starts off quite harsh in terms of the alcohol bite, but after a bit it is not that bad after all. I can imagine it being better when mixed, perhaps. Relatively dry, mild to medium body, borderline sipping rum.

40e3688f03d81ca3bb3b614408fd22f4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Ricardo from Switzerland with 4 ratings

A few flavours of caramel and vanilla but overshadowed by the alcohol taste. Better to be mixed.

6e8da84f28147182cb877196862ec771.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Koozieguy225 from United States with 6 ratings

Can’t name a better rum to sip on while getting back to basics with a couple homies.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Vůně je suchá, nevýrazná, s vanilkou a hřebíčkem. Lihová, nevyzrálá, snad ještě zaznamenávám citrusy. (72 b)
Chuť: Hm...tak blbě nejen voní, ale i chutná. Citrusy, nakyslost, suchost, dřevnatost a seno. (72 b)
Body: 72/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno při posezení s kamarádem v českolipském Baru/Kavárně Kocour. Je to takové nijaké, dřevité, hodně slabý zážitek, ale rum to asi připomíná. To v Božkově umějí z náhražek udělat lepší pití.

E831cd0c3822493e63a4df52451c3b57.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 23 hours ago by Sink from Switzerland with 8 ratings

Great simple gold Barbados rum, with no sugar or additives. Probably one of the best choices for someone starting his rum journey, and a huge step up from the more commonly found alternatives (bacardi/ cptn morgan).

5fa80a29043bbbd673a90f3f745b0dca.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 23 hours ago by Xclber007 from United States with 2 ratings

I don't prefer to drink this one straight, but it works great in cocktails. It has a spiciness to it that comes out in a dark and stormy that I enjoy. Inexpensive as well at $18 a bottle by me.

Ad8b50cc1b62a72e3ba2554a57d60bf1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 1 day ago by s81 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Hi

Nice on its own as not too fiery good as a mixer too. All round tasty with hint of vanilla.

7bcb91c5f2b8c51218938b84d17b4b51.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 days ago by Hogo from United States with 5 ratings

Kind of tastes like captain Morgan without the added spices/vanilla. There are many better rums for a similar or lower price out there: Plantation Barbados 5, Angostura 7, etc.

66b377c036ad88d9f85f33c445dc10c5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 days ago by steveinny from United States with 24 ratings

Great Barbados Rum. Not overly sweet, a little dry.

585fd28d9d4a35b5f995b27a5b2cb6e8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 15 days ago by Jk1989 from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

A fairly nice rum thats good bang for your buck. I find it goes nice with just a simple mixer like coke, or adds a little extra when added to a n8ce cocktail. Not my favourite rum, but certainly one of my regular buys.