Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
400 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
10
50
147
143
28
9
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

400 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Aiden from United States with 14 ratings

I like Barbadian rums quite a bit. This one isn't the purest or the tastiest, but it still has that characteristic dry, whisky-like quality to it. Certainly not a sugar bomb, and quite enjoyable neat or mixed, but doesn't offer anything special, especially with R. L. Seale 10 Year competing in the same style and price range. It's a rum in purgatory in my opinion, where it's good to drink with friends at bars with little selection, but it's just not a keeper for the rum shelf at home.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Stonge1954 (PREMIUM) from United States with 3 ratings

I’m trying to avoid the ‘sugared’ rums, and this brand is perfect, like Appleton’s. Fine for sipping over ice, or as a base for cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Paul from Australia with 135 ratings

Not tooo bad for a gold coloured rum, cheap n easy to drink, you could do worse

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Codogg81 from United States with 16 ratings

This is what old time rum from Barbados tastes like. No added sugars or flavors. Just buttery, slightly oakie, banana peel goodness. Solid mixer as it should be.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Zoey from United States with 7 ratings

I still like this one by it's self, but i got bored of it after awhile, taste pretty good in a coke or a daciri. I still like it for the price

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Mount gay rum Eclipse je skvelý rum, ktorý sa hodí do miešaných nápojov. Samostatne je piteľný avšak len v obmedzenom objeme.

Fľaša: dizajn fľaše je typický pre barové pulty. Hrubé oblé sklo s typickými znakmi producenta. Fľaša je ozvláštnená embosovaným logom producenta na etikete a popisom produktu na skle fľaše.

Vôňa: vo vôni cítiť štipku vanilky ale aj kože, vône prebíja alkoholová aróma.

Chuť: ostrosť alkoholu trocha prebíja ostatné vône.

Farba: zlatistá

Záver: ide o rum, určený hlavne pre miešané nápoje, mne chutil v dark & stormy a cuba libre. Odporúčam.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Ian Storey from Canada with 20 ratings

Tasty, light with a sharp aftertaste
Clearly part of the Mount Gay family - the Eclipse is a solid everyday rum choice.

Harsher then the Eclipse Silver and less flavourful then the XO it’s a solid choice for those that like rum

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Rhombic from Spain with 13 ratings

Golden colour. Vanilla aroma with caramel and some fruitiness, with a prominent alcoholic note. More clearly alcoholic in mouth, in an unbalanced way. The flavours are predominantly oak and banana, with some biscuit-like hints. It starts off quite harsh in terms of the alcohol bite, but after a bit it is not that bad after all. I can imagine it being better when mixed, perhaps. Relatively dry, mild to medium body, borderline sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Ricardo from Switzerland with 4 ratings

A few flavours of caramel and vanilla but overshadowed by the alcohol taste. Better to be mixed.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Koozieguy225 from United States with 6 ratings

Can’t name a better rum to sip on while getting back to basics with a couple homies.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 319 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Vůně je suchá, nevýrazná, s vanilkou a hřebíčkem. Lihová, nevyzrálá, snad ještě zaznamenávám citrusy. (72 b)
Chuť: Hm...tak blbě nejen voní, ale i chutná. Citrusy, nakyslost, suchost, dřevnatost a seno. (72 b)
Body: 72/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno při posezení s kamarádem v českolipském Baru/Kavárně Kocour. Je to takové nijaké, dřevité, hodně slabý zážitek, ale rum to asi připomíná. To v Božkově umějí z náhražek udělat lepší pití.