Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


327 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F29853ee839d60a22589b5094bafbdd8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is a nice dry rum, Barbados is the homeland of rum. Will buy again.

40e3688f03d81ca3bb3b614408fd22f4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Ricardo from Switzerland with 4 ratings

A few flavours of caramel and vanilla but overshadowed by the alcohol taste. Better to be mixed.

6e8da84f28147182cb877196862ec771.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Koozieguy225 from United States with 6 ratings

Can’t name a better rum to sip on while getting back to basics with a couple homies.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Vůně je suchá, nevýrazná, s vanilkou a hřebíčkem. Lihová, nevyzrálá, snad ještě zaznamenávám citrusy. (72 b)
Chuť: Hm...tak blbě nejen voní, ale i chutná. Citrusy, nakyslost, suchost, dřevnatost a seno. (72 b)
Body: 72/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno při posezení s kamarádem v českolipském Baru/Kavárně Kocour. Je to takové nijaké, dřevité, hodně slabý zážitek, ale rum to asi připomíná. To v Božkově umějí z náhražek udělat lepší pití.

6ab0ba0266802bc7337654ca9e7eaed8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 days ago by SerzantsErglis from Latvia with 1 rating

ordinary rum with a quite taste of spirit couldn’t drink it without cola. Not very enjoyable but drinkable.

3ef01d6656022d5c920fd0b5825fe8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 days ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 36 ratings

...but there are nicer rums available in the same price bracket.

Mixed with ginger beer, coke or pineapple soda, it's very drinkable, but nothing to write home about.

I'd pick Red Leg, Dead Man's Fingers or even Captain Morgan's Spiced over this one, given the choice.

30fdc9acd199ae52f9802dfe78a3dc7b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 days ago by PhilB from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

I found Eclipse a good standard house rum nice with a splash of coke, well worth having in a collection

Eb977ad1d7456d3dea6175a4ed808faf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 days ago by Nathan345 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

I like bajan rum especially this, after a night of being absolutely obliterated by nearly half a bottle of this and cola I can sense a mild vanilla and cinnamon taste and an acidy sweet vanilla aftertaste,a very good bog standard rum to mix with your cola, thanks mountgay

B17e3cfb8b5c3fef0157b00ba7131c52.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 23 days ago by Diego from Australia with 20 ratings

It's an basic rum, I wanted to like it but found it lacking in character and rather bland. Even mixed with coke did nothing much for me. It's no anejo especial (havana club) and around the same price.

F4d6047439842ccfb037caff805a2e89.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 23 days ago by Rip from Canada with 6 ratings

Too harsh and not inclined as a sipping rum. But one always needs a few bottles of a rum like this to mix ginger ale with.

D17280f428169749553cbe4c7cdcc803.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 28 days ago by toonstormm from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

My first venture into Mount Gay’s offerings and it wasn’t bad. Drank well and mixed well. I’d stretch next time to their black barrel instead of the eclipse though so it maybe becomes obsolete?