Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10 (352 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
7
45
128
130
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


352 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I was introduced to this when I was younger from my uncle who used to take surf trips to Barbados. He recommended I try it with ginger ale and a lime which soon after became my favorite drink. Years later still a great sweetness to this rum and I prefer to mix it rather than drink it neat or on the rocks. Good value and better than any white, gold, or spiced generic rum like Captain Morgan or Bacardi.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Mount gay rum Eclipse je skvelý rum, ktorý sa hodí do miešaných nápojov. Samostatne je piteľný avšak len v obmedzenom objeme.

Fľaša: dizajn fľaše je typický pre barové pulty. Hrubé oblé sklo s typickými znakmi producenta. Fľaša je ozvláštnená embosovaným logom producenta na etikete a popisom produktu na skle fľaše.

Vôňa: vo vôni cítiť štipku vanilky ale aj kože, vône prebíja alkoholová aróma.

Chuť: ostrosť alkoholu trocha prebíja ostatné vône.

Farba: zlatistá

Záver: ide o rum, určený hlavne pre miešané nápoje, mne chutil v dark & stormy a cuba libre. Odporúčam.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ian Storey from Canada with 18 ratings

Tasty, light with a sharp aftertaste
Clearly part of the Mount Gay family - the Eclipse is a solid everyday rum choice.

Harsher then the Eclipse Silver and less flavourful then the XO it’s a solid choice for those that like rum

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rhombic from Spain with 13 ratings

Golden colour. Vanilla aroma with caramel and some fruitiness, with a prominent alcoholic note. More clearly alcoholic in mouth, in an unbalanced way. The flavours are predominantly oak and banana, with some biscuit-like hints. It starts off quite harsh in terms of the alcohol bite, but after a bit it is not that bad after all. I can imagine it being better when mixed, perhaps. Relatively dry, mild to medium body, borderline sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ricardo from Switzerland with 4 ratings

A few flavours of caramel and vanilla but overshadowed by the alcohol taste. Better to be mixed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Koozieguy225 from United States with 6 ratings

Can’t name a better rum to sip on while getting back to basics with a couple homies.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Vůně je suchá, nevýrazná, s vanilkou a hřebíčkem. Lihová, nevyzrálá, snad ještě zaznamenávám citrusy. (72 b)
Chuť: Hm...tak blbě nejen voní, ale i chutná. Citrusy, nakyslost, suchost, dřevnatost a seno. (72 b)
Body: 72/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno při posezení s kamarádem v českolipském Baru/Kavárně Kocour. Je to takové nijaké, dřevité, hodně slabý zážitek, ale rum to asi připomíná. To v Božkově umějí z náhražek udělat lepší pití.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by Antonius from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

My third bottle of rum ever. I did a bit of a mistake having XO first (which I loved) and Eclipse after so I was quite dissapointed. Even I prefer to sip this one is rather for mixing with coke. Still not a bad rum. Pale color, strong taste.

Ffffff

Posted 8 days ago by tesibaer from Germany with 9 ratings

On the nose: molasses, sweetness, some honey with spices and oak, subtle nuts and chocolate, alcohol, overall pleasantly mild.

On the palate: sugar cane, spices, some nuts, brown sugar, pleasantly strong.

In the finish: oak, spices, molasses; long.

In der Nase: Melasse, Süße, etwas Honig mit Gewürzen und Eiche, dezent Nüsse und Schokolade, Alkohol, insgesamt angenehm mild.
Am Gaumen: Zuckerrohr, Gewürze, etwas Nüsse, brauner Zucker, angenehm kräftig.
Im Abgang: Eiche, Gewürze, Melasse; lang.

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by CJ1999 from United Kingdom with 56 ratings

It’s a decent quality with a predictable spiced flavour. Perfect for anyone who wants to try rum. Nothing unique or interesting about it

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by DougDoesNotCare from United States with 38 ratings

I've found that this doesn't bring a ton of unique notes to the cocktails it's in, but it isn't bad. A bit of vanilla and molasses, but definitely dry. Not a good sipper.