Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.4/10 (334 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
7
44
115
126
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


334 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

8d291bf9b56b449578800690faef9610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

One of the better cheap rums. Wouldn't buy this one again but it is good enough to make me want to try one of the higher end Mount Gay rums.

7b3b274b3ba1b42f453d1e35b803c471.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by boogaloodude from Belgium with 11 ratings

tastes much older than it is , and that's a compliment

30061e0cfe8dfa77fd16192b4882cf39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Joel from United States with 9 ratings

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

17244066c59ae18b934a356f130e728c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

This is very drinkable. I much prefer darker rums but this one is solid. Not just a mixer. Even sipping it holds its own. Not complex and a short finish but is has good balance, good bite and is surprisingly smooth. Pleasantly surprised. Another quality rum from Mount Gay.

4e0723408c7ce63b66ec8e22cad5aba8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Ash_Scriv from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Not too shabby, not overly tasty but would buy again, solid rum.

40e47bedb1e3f4df3067f373cd50bc8c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Stonge1954 (PREMIUM) from United States with 3 ratings

I’m trying to avoid the ‘sugared’ rums, and this brand is perfect, like Appleton’s. Fine for sipping over ice, or as a base for cocktails.

228de2ce22c4eaf4ad7e155836376c2b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 116 ratings

Not tooo bad for a gold coloured rum, cheap n easy to drink, you could do worse

Ec6b1f7bf2f6ad89552d4ee43d0e75ee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Codogg81 from United States with 14 ratings

This is what old time rum from Barbados tastes like. No added sugars or flavors. Just buttery, slightly oakie, banana peel goodness. Solid mixer as it should be.

65a3e272a703bf8b89e7e6afd5f8a193.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Zoey from United States with 7 ratings

I still like this one by it's self, but i got bored of it after awhile, taste pretty good in a coke or a daciri. I still like it for the price

4242b3193a7265a24b886acb50b24894.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Mount gay rum Eclipse je skvelý rum, ktorý sa hodí do miešaných nápojov. Samostatne je piteľný avšak len v obmedzenom objeme.

Fľaša: dizajn fľaše je typický pre barové pulty. Hrubé oblé sklo s typickými znakmi producenta. Fľaša je ozvláštnená embosovaným logom producenta na etikete a popisom produktu na skle fľaše.

Vôňa: vo vôni cítiť štipku vanilky ale aj kože, vône prebíja alkoholová aróma.

Chuť: ostrosť alkoholu trocha prebíja ostatné vône.

Farba: zlatistá

Záver: ide o rum, určený hlavne pre miešané nápoje, mne chutil v dark & stormy a cuba libre. Odporúčam.

B2ed782e0b04aa1a14c131dd74d21842.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Ian Storey from Canada with 18 ratings

Tasty, light with a sharp aftertaste
Clearly part of the Mount Gay family - the Eclipse is a solid everyday rum choice.

Harsher then the Eclipse Silver and less flavourful then the XO it’s a solid choice for those that like rum