Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


312 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is a nice dry rum, Barbados is the homeland of rum. Will buy again.

Posted 21 days ago by Rumopijca from Poland with 10 ratings

Bardzo lubię rumy z Barbados. Niestety ten mnie zawiodl. Kompletnie nie mój smak. Ma coś co mnie odrzuca. Nawet w koktajlu jest ciezki.

Posted 24 days ago by srosener from United States with 6 ratings

I prefer the Black Barrel from Mount Gay. This one is not bad, but not packed with flavor like the others. Good enough for a nice mixed drink, but not one to sip on.

Posted 25 days ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 51 ratings

I really like this Rum but be warned, it is so smooth it is very easy to get carried away and drink more then you intended LOL. Very enjoyable subtle flavours, perfectly sweet and smooth. Great value for money.

Posted 25 days ago by klaasfrans from Netherlands with 11 ratings

I like this rum a lot for mixing and a lot of people I know like it as well. There are better rums but not in this price ratio in my opinion. In the Netherlands a bottle is 16,5€. And I prefer it above the other ‘bigger’ brands such as Bacardi.

Posted 26 days ago by mc from United States with 19 ratings

An absolutely delicious blend of spices. Not too sweet. An absolute 10 with coke. A step or two behind when neat or on the rocks. One of the best.

Posted 27 days ago by Murz from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

It's a good solid mixing rum readily available, and I always have a bottle at home. For its price point is punching above its weight, and far more enjoyable to drink than the supermarket rums that sit alongside it on the shelf.

Posted 29 days ago by chuck from United States with 15 ratings

Can usually get this rum at most stores which makes it somewhat redeeming. It has a decent flavor and a mild burn.

Posted about 1 month ago by The Answer is Rum from United States with 10 ratings

A great rum at a great price. Next time I'll buy the 1.75L bottle.

Posted about 2 months ago by Big Gaz from United Kingdom with 1 rating

A good value all rounder, not too sweet. Big on the banana and vanilla. Great value for below £20

Posted about 2 months ago by Daniel.delvalle from United States with 19 ratings

The bottle that I have appears to be a little different than the bottle that's on this website. But I'm going to assume it's the same Rum. I enjoyed it when doing slow sipping shots oh, and I noticed a little difference in taste when I put it on the rocks. It seemed to bring out some hints of vanilla but I didn't notice before that. Overall it's a halfway decent rum. I would not use this as a mixer because it tastes fine as it is.

Posted about 2 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 23 ratings

For a commercially available gold rum, this is the obvious choice. If you're in the supermarket, this is likely the best gold rum available to you for mixing.
Notes of caramel and a distant oak smoke with a hint of clove and allspice.

Posted 2 months ago by VodkaRumTabs from United States with 4 ratings

I like the aroma and taste. Good rum to swig straight but not too sip unless it’s on the rocks. Mixes well with Dr Pepper, coke and root beer, would recommend.

Posted 2 months ago by WW from Netherlands with 31 ratings

This is one of the rums that got me exploring the rum world. A lot better than the standard Bacardi's i drank before.

Posted 3 months ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Any mount Gay rum is good this is a really nice Rum

Posted 3 months ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

This is where the Mount Gay journey begins. If you were to compare this rum to an aged premium rum, you would be disappointed, but when you compare it to the same price point of say an Appletons it stands up well. Smooth enough to drink straight or to mix with quality ginger and lime, of price is important than this rum has a lot to recommend it.

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Good rum for mixing, smells good and rich, but the taste is too harsh. It's a good rum for mixing.
If you like spicy rums, you could also try to sip it.

Smell: caramel, vanilla, dry fruits, oak, not intensiv, some alcohol
Taste: vanilla, caramel, spice, alcohol

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruit: 2/5
Spice: 4/5
Mildness: 2/5

Posted 3 months ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

Der Mount Gay Eclipse war mein Einstieg den ich durchaus pur geniessen konnte.
Preis Leistung top.

Inzwischen ist der Black Barrel und der XO meine bevorzugte Wahl wenn es um Mount Gay geht.

Zu erwähnen wäre das diese Brennerei meines Wissens in keines ihrer Produkte Zucker schüttet.

Hut Ab! Karma +100

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Einer meiner Top 3 Rums zum Mischen. Pur ist man beim XO besser aufgehoben.

Posted 4 months ago by Wally75 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Just good all round for mixing or as it comes from bottle and its oldest rum in world

Posted 4 months ago by peter75 from Netherlands with 13 ratings

Redelijke rum. Weinig diepgang in de smaken. Maar wel lekker met Cola.

Posted 4 months ago by Sarapoh from United Kingdom with 1 rating

My favourite go to tipple, smooth and tastes like caramel

Posted 4 months ago by Pimms88 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Very lovely to drink. Lovely taste that compliments many mixers

Posted 4 months ago by Russ Meredith from United States with 12 ratings

Not over bearing or bland, just a good character. Soft nose, mellow on the tongue, vanilla notes and well mannered. I use it for as a core rum for tiki drinks

Posted 4 months ago by nofa93 from Canada with 7 ratings

Very sippable. Hardly any burn. Really enjoyed my first experience with this one.