Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10 (352 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
7
45
128
130
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


352 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Andrew Lantz from Canada with 10 ratings

It was not overly flavourful. Strong aftertaste - not pleasant. Does not mix well with cola. More of a sipping rum in small doses.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by boogaloodude from Belgium with 11 ratings

tastes much older than it is , and that's a compliment

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Joel from United States with 9 ratings

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Florin from Romania with 27 ratings

Acest rom are nevoie sa respire, prima intalnire cu el e cam dura. Se simte ca nu are niciun fel de aditivi ( coloranti, potentiatori) si nici zahar nu are.
in miros se simte alcoolul destul de tare , vanilie si mai e ceva ce nu pot distinge , pare a fi ceva cacao . Aceleasi arome se simt si in gust iar alcoolul e destul de puternic dar devine ok dupa ce ia putin aer.

un rom cinstit avand in vedere pretul , e primul Mount Gay pe care il incerc si m a convins sa incerc si gamele superioare )

LE: acest rom merge cu o boaba de cacao lasata cateva minute in pahar cu romul; astfel romul ia putin aer si de data asta are o aroma indubitabila de cacao )

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

This is not a rum to drink neat, but excellent in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 167 ratings

This is very drinkable. I much prefer darker rums but this one is solid. Not just a mixer. Even sipping it holds its own. Not complex and a short finish but is has good balance, good bite and is surprisingly smooth. Pleasantly surprised. Another quality rum from Mount Gay.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Ash_Scriv from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Not too shabby, not overly tasty but would buy again, solid rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Stonge1954 (PREMIUM) from United States with 3 ratings

I’m trying to avoid the ‘sugared’ rums, and this brand is perfect, like Appleton’s. Fine for sipping over ice, or as a base for cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 120 ratings

Not tooo bad for a gold coloured rum, cheap n easy to drink, you could do worse

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Codogg81 from United States with 14 ratings

This is what old time rum from Barbados tastes like. No added sugars or flavors. Just buttery, slightly oakie, banana peel goodness. Solid mixer as it should be.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Zoey from United States with 7 ratings

I still like this one by it's self, but i got bored of it after awhile, taste pretty good in a coke or a daciri. I still like it for the price