Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.4/10 (345 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
7
44
123
129
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


345 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

This is a great rum for mixing. However, I typically drink rum neat. So here is my description. It has a mild alcohol scent. Drinking it I notice at first a strong punch of alcohol, but it only lingers a few seconds from the finish. After the first few sips I barely notice the alcohol, and continue to enjoy the rum. At the finish I taste a light vanilla hint. The viscosity is light-bodied and thin. It has a golden-saffron color. Overall, smooth and enjoyable for the price. Usually the best choice at poorly stocked bars. Not the best rum, but certainly not the worst!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by boogaloodude from Belgium with 11 ratings

tastes much older than it is , and that's a compliment

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Joel from United States with 9 ratings

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

This is not a rum to drink neat, but excellent in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 124 ratings

This is very drinkable. I much prefer darker rums but this one is solid. Not just a mixer. Even sipping it holds its own. Not complex and a short finish but is has good balance, good bite and is surprisingly smooth. Pleasantly surprised. Another quality rum from Mount Gay.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ash_Scriv from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Not too shabby, not overly tasty but would buy again, solid rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Stonge1954 (PREMIUM) from United States with 3 ratings

I’m trying to avoid the ‘sugared’ rums, and this brand is perfect, like Appleton’s. Fine for sipping over ice, or as a base for cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 118 ratings

Not tooo bad for a gold coloured rum, cheap n easy to drink, you could do worse

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Codogg81 from United States with 14 ratings

This is what old time rum from Barbados tastes like. No added sugars or flavors. Just buttery, slightly oakie, banana peel goodness. Solid mixer as it should be.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Zoey from United States with 7 ratings

I still like this one by it's self, but i got bored of it after awhile, taste pretty good in a coke or a daciri. I still like it for the price

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Mount gay rum Eclipse je skvelý rum, ktorý sa hodí do miešaných nápojov. Samostatne je piteľný avšak len v obmedzenom objeme.

Fľaša: dizajn fľaše je typický pre barové pulty. Hrubé oblé sklo s typickými znakmi producenta. Fľaša je ozvláštnená embosovaným logom producenta na etikete a popisom produktu na skle fľaše.

Vôňa: vo vôni cítiť štipku vanilky ale aj kože, vône prebíja alkoholová aróma.

Chuť: ostrosť alkoholu trocha prebíja ostatné vône.

Farba: zlatistá

Záver: ide o rum, určený hlavne pre miešané nápoje, mne chutil v dark & stormy a cuba libre. Odporúčam.