Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.4/10 (333 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
44
114
127
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


333 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

8d291bf9b56b449578800690faef9610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

One of the better cheap rums. Wouldn't buy this one again but it is good enough to make me want to try one of the higher end Mount Gay rums.

900f18e134f3195eb6653736dff54cb8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Happy to drink this when given the opportunity. Not my usual choice but pleasant nonetheless.

Ad20de254295dd7b27a8adbdcfeb44cb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Johann from United States with 2 ratings

Sorry to be a downer here, but I could discern no rum taste, only rubbing alcohol smell. I don't know where the complex notes are that reviewers have been talking about. I decided not to put it in the coquito and used my buddy's Captain Morgan instead, which worked fine.

D04d022698db53c0fbd6e82c593ca574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

This one reminds me of Havana Club in a feisty alcohol burn aftertaste that will shock you to your senses and summon the courage to put it back down. There could be more flavor, for sure, but it’s not too sweet for an industrial rum, which makes this, at the very least, a fine mixer and decent desert isle companion.

466c4444752038239ba892d1d64e8254.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by ben_fairweather from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This is great as an affordable rum for mixing. Light, mellow and fruity odour, albeit lacking in depth; the same applies to the flavour profile.
If you're used to drinking Captain Morgan & coke, this is a great entry into the world of real rum. This is one of my staples, but not one for special occasions.

2b56af3a6f1de25a2c87c65a8b3cb6a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

I did like this rum, but it was nothing special. I am really interested in trying the XO, but I had higher hopes for this one still.

Very 5....

0f12aae85e1f4b9356dd88b3c2ae8771.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Frank Blackmore from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

It pours a deep gold in colour. Aroma is sweet with hints of brown sugar, maybe. Flavour has hints of brown sugar and stone fruits. It's a little thin on the mouthfeel and is just about smooth enough to drink neat. I much prefer this with cola and I think it is has a unique flavour, making it one of the best mixing rums.

41f785d7d71ca85ff53e01b82183c84f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 from United States with 46 ratings

is what the label says for bottles shipped to the Caribbean. and they are right. that's how i drink this rum, and i always have a bottle around. great flavor, not sweet at all. this rum holds it's own in a cocktail and at the same time it can be drank straight IF it's ICE COLD with a twist of lime.

4737a75b46f07d2991d9b1936e27ad90.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Jamcan69 from Canada with 13 ratings

Not great on its own, but suitable for mixing with Coke.

A9fbd7a78cd3f1022716f7e2b424b4e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by RogerBearpark from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Mellow with good, but rather light and fleeting, flavours.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2650 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Mount Gay 1703 Eclipse Rum bottle and label design looks pretty decent, but nothing special. Wood, dryness and vanilla coming through to the nose and palate. Quite a harsh burn at the end, so better to mix it up with your favorite soda. Whisky lovers add 2 points.