Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10 (364 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
7
45
133
134
24
8
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

364 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Tanya Kempe-Tummon from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

If you're served this in a pub you're lucky! A standard rum, but very tasty nonetheless

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Aiden from United States with 11 ratings

I like Barbadian rums quite a bit. This one isn't the purest or the tastiest, but it still has that characteristic dry, whisky-like quality to it. Certainly not a sugar bomb, and quite enjoyable neat or mixed, but doesn't offer anything special, especially with R. L. Seale 10 Year competing in the same style and price range. It's a rum in purgatory in my opinion, where it's good to drink with friends at bars with little selection, but it's just not a keeper for the rum shelf at home.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Echo from Ukraine with 11 ratings

I can't remember other rums with this kind of citrus aroma and taste. Unique and nice spiced rum for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Kempy from United States with 1 rating

One of my go-to runs for a Cuba Libre! Very smooth, good price. Just an all around solid rum. I wouldn’t recommend Eclipse for a straight rum but their XO and Select is quite good for straight or on the rocks. I’ve been to the Mount Gay distillery in Barbados, awesome place. Very rustic and still a truly handmade rum! 10/10 recommended for mixed drinks, 6.5/10 for straight/rocks

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

Not bad, but unsatisfactory.
There is certainly taste of Mount Gay, but it is quite thin.
"Old Cask Selection" is awesome, "XO" is very good, "Black Barrel" is good, this "Eclipse" is bellow the lower limit, for me.
I'm not satisfied.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Pete034 from Australia with 24 ratings

Light and mellow taste, good value for money rum worth a try

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tim bascombe from United States with 14 ratings

Solidfor drinks very good taste. Not Demerara but very good.Mount gay

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tuukka.R from Finland with 7 ratings

Good rum for the price. Oaky, little notes of vanilla. Not sweet at all. Probably very good rum for cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Soft aromas of softly sweet molasses, alcohol and some spicy character. Flavor has a bit more going on than the Mount Gay Silver. A bit fuller in body but still kind of light medium. Light cane and/or molasses with hints of vanilla and for the age of the rum quite a bit of oak with touches of char. Very little sweetness here. Slightly bitter and lingering finish. Not what I'd call a great sipper but it has enough character and contributes to cocktails calling for lightly aged rums. No sugar added here so it's a very dry rum. A solid offering that is hard to argue with for the price. ($18 in Ohio for 750ml)

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

A solid, light rum. Decent taste. A bit thin, but it is column made.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by opkins from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

This one’s gold in colour and is mildly fruity with a vanilla after taste. There’s a slight smokiness and an alcohol hit right up front which reminds me of whisky. Apparently this rum is aged in toasted Kentucky oak barrels. It seems like a pretty standard gold rum but I’ve not tried many yet.