Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


328 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F29853ee839d60a22589b5094bafbdd8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is a nice dry rum, Barbados is the homeland of rum. Will buy again.

0f12aae85e1f4b9356dd88b3c2ae8771.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Frank Blackmore from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

It pours a deep gold in colour. Aroma is sweet with hints of brown sugar, maybe. Flavour has hints of brown sugar and stone fruits. It's a little thin on the mouthfeel and is just about smooth enough to drink neat. I much prefer this with cola and I think it is has a unique flavour, making it one of the best mixing rums.

41f785d7d71ca85ff53e01b82183c84f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

is what the label says for bottles shipped to the Caribbean. and they are right. that's how i drink this rum, and i always have a bottle around. great flavor, not sweet at all. this rum holds it's own in a cocktail and at the same time it can be drank straight IF it's ICE COLD with a twist of lime.

4737a75b46f07d2991d9b1936e27ad90.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Jamcan69 from Canada with 13 ratings

Not great on its own, but suitable for mixing with Coke.

A9fbd7a78cd3f1022716f7e2b424b4e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by RogerBearpark from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Mellow with good, but rather light and fleeting, flavours.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2580 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Mount Gay 1703 Eclipse Rum bottle and label design looks pretty decent, but nothing special. Wood, dryness and vanilla coming through to the nose and palate. Quite a harsh burn at the end, so better to mix it up with your favorite soda. Whisky lovers add 2 points.

D6bee84bb82f81fa19c41edf1f05ab70.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 31 ratings

Good everyday rum to keep in the bar but a little to harsh as a sipper (especially with so many other options available). Enjoy mixed...

Fcdfb8c6b2b2351453ef547cf03d327a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by John from United States with 3 ratings

I first found this rum in Barbados in 1987. I was very good but I could not get in in Pennsylvania until several years later. The aroma is great and it is good on the rocks or mixed. This is my go to rum and one of my favorites

9558ad72a8549ecf13b2d6147e2511f3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Glenn from United States with 20 ratings

Nose - Vanilla, banana, light
Taste - Similar to nose, burn is light

In the category of Bajan rums, there are better options for the same or less cost.
You can get something more aged and has oaky notes.
If your options are limited, this will do.

D629cae0e68ff183e3d29cde4185f56e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Krobbe13 from Sweden with 89 ratings

Lite vanilj i doften mild och lättdrucken i värmen.

Ee2265472ad0e2a270794b56e4f4f431.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Andy Beneveedez from United States with 8 ratings

Bought this thinking it was top shelf. It’s not bad, it has a decent aroma with buttery notes, but you can smell the alcohol and taste it. It’s just too harsh for me at 47%. It is a good standard rum if you can enjoy the alcohol or maybe mixed.