Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10 (352 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
7
45
128
130
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


352 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I was introduced to this when I was younger from my uncle who used to take surf trips to Barbados. He recommended I try it with ginger ale and a lime which soon after became my favorite drink. Years later still a great sweetness to this rum and I prefer to mix it rather than drink it neat or on the rocks. Good value and better than any white, gold, or spiced generic rum like Captain Morgan or Bacardi.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ShaneD from United States with 14 ratings

This is not bad in tiki drinks that require a lightly aged rum like the scorpion. It's not offensive or expensive and it adds a somewhat pleasant rum taste to most drinks. On it's own however, I find it lacking depth and weirdly harsh. There are better options but they can be hard to find in some places.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ratchet from Croatia with 7 ratings

za miksat dobar, ovako iskreno je klasican rum koji se da kupit za jeftinije

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stéphane from Canada with 8 ratings

Très bon rhum des Barbades je le recommande sans glace et "on the rock"

Ffffff

Posted at Stillery over 1 year ago by SimonB from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

So far I've tried Plantation, Lambs, Kraken, Diplomático Reserva Exclusiva Dark Rum and the Mount Gay Eclipse.

This isn't a bad rum and I much prefer it to the Lambs and the Kraken. It's not quite as good as the plantation but at £15.50 a bottle it is a real bargain.

I'm working my way through the rums until I find one I really really like.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

This is a good Rum for mixing and not to be sipped. Good for a rum and coke or in a Rum Punch.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

I first had this rum back in the early 80's. While not stupendous I find it very approachable. O.K. for sipping but very good for mixing. For an easy cocktail 2 oz. with 6.oz. of Fever Tree on ice. Did not join the Mojito craze until very recently so I have limited experience with it and this brand but as I do not care for white rum find it a nice substitute. Mt. Gay Eclipse is also VG in juice based cocktails. Another simple suggestion is with Mango juice, which is readily available now a days.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Good as a mixing rum in a Cuba Libra, not something I'd appreciate neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

Don’t let the name fool you, it’s ok mixed or on its own, better than most rums solid choice

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Passie from Netherlands with 53 ratings

Not sharp and not soft, spices are in good balance.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Interesting but not special. Solid value and mixes well but would prefer more depth overall. Beware, sipping can numb your tongue.