Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.4/10 (334 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
7
44
114
127
23
7
5

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


334 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

8d291bf9b56b449578800690faef9610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

One of the better cheap rums. Wouldn't buy this one again but it is good enough to make me want to try one of the higher end Mount Gay rums.

7b29cbcc8d664f37f09c1e45a71691cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Passie from Netherlands with 50 ratings

Not sharp and not soft, spices are in good balance.

06e775de3ea659802819e69660ac783b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Interesting but not special. Solid value and mixes well but would prefer more depth overall. Beware, sipping can numb your tongue.

554d05a611a2a60eb31346344cb7d170.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

Tried neat in glencairn
Mouthfeel- light bodied
Palate- ethanol and molasses
Finish- a little spicy and decent ethanol bite

85ca13deba541a3e2079a9bb097c36db.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

enjoyed swimming in the leeward side of Barbados waters and drinking mount gay rum punch. balanced spices and versatile, this light dark rum mixes well with fruit juices or coca cola, especially in a beach/showers/restaurant environment that Barbados offers

0e53427916ebc269df4aea9503ca00dd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Davetitus from United States with 8 ratings

We mix it. We drink it straight. It goes in with a Diet Coke. What can I say? We are sailors. And sailors drink a lot of Mount gay rum eclipse!

35688fee6879e7348f476626422cbf24.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by John T from United States with 7 ratings

Can't say I've given this rum much of a chance. Just didn't give me what I thought I was going to get. After reading some of the reviews and going over it again I can see why I was wrong. This has a very estery flavor and aroma. My first nosing was highly reminiscent of nail polish remover, but I attributed it to ethanol. After some time rolling it around in my mouth it took on a much different character. This is the fruity funk you look for in Jamaican rum, but without the fullness of flavor and aroma you get from Smith & Cross. Still funky though. Added a splash of white rum to it and those esters cut through that like a hot knife through butter, but brought more than banana to the party. This rum will be an excellent addition to a painkiller or zombie.

77cf0ed7449cd0e9fa3840453dd341f6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 80 ratings

very soft and velvety body. Not too sweet like Plantation. This is even sippable on its own like I am doing right now. Very slight boozyness...but nothing unbearable.
Good stuff

35df06ce2296d99eef0f47b9cd8ee35b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by stonytokes from United States with 12 ratings

Absolutely the best value for the money available and rum no bar should be without. For me this rides the line between mixer and sipper and needs only ice and fresh squeezed lime juice to make it palatable. Add some Coke for an outstanding Cuba Libre. It's tempting to rate this higher for the sheer value of a zero sugar added Barbados rum but the Black Barrel edges it out for distinction and character. Beats the hell out of Bacardi any day.

5cba59c6aa86a459f827d2893fdb12b8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Matje from Netherlands with 23 ratings

Kan er eigenlijk niet echt wat van zeggen, wat op zich al genoeg zegt. Niet vervelend maar maakt geen indruk op alle fronten.

D25406bb8ea2d7c49e3ae65e451bc3c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Olly44 from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Nice and cheap and love the taste. My casual drinking rum.