Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


314 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is a nice dry rum, Barbados is the homeland of rum. Will buy again.

Posted over 4 years ago by Steve from United States with 4 ratings

What can I say, Eclipse is the go-to general rum for a quick rum and cola drink, mixing cocktails for the ladies, or just relaxing on the deck with some ice and soda. I don't generally sip it as it does not have the deep flavors or other rums, but for this range, we keep it stocked regularly.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This rum is an under-achiever. It's only mediocre, with no remarkable qualities to speak of. Regardless of what it costs where you live, you can find something better for the same price. There is nothing offensive about it, unless you're offended by blandness.

Posted over 4 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

Very nice rum to mix. One of the best under 20 euro. Straight up is OK, but then I suggest to pay a little more for a better rum

Posted over 4 years ago by jake from New Zealand with 23 ratings

Despite the name which I know puts a lot of people off this rum, I finally decided to give it a try. Glad I did. Not overly expensive, nice & light, goes down easy, not a sipper but mixes well. Worth trying if you haven't before.
Note: the bottle is oval like the others now, not round.

Posted over 4 years ago by Wonky Donkey from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

When you go to the store and you have on offer the £20 rums, wins every time. Perfect for mixing, probably not for sipping. But good, solid and dependable at that price point.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jamie Hicks from Canada with 32 ratings

One of the better golds and one of the best Barbados has to offer. Halfway between an Amber and a gold.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andi from Germany with 70 ratings

Yummy, Mount Gay is a very good stuff for Cuba libre.

Posted almost 5 years ago by FR4N901S from Belgium with 53 ratings

Goûté récemment lors d'une petite dégustation entre amis, nous étions accordés pour dire que ce rhum est à mélanger..

Au nez, il est assez sec et épicé. En bouche, c'est l'alcool qui prédomine.

A tester donc mais surtout en cocktails, Cuba Libre par exemple..

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jourdan Charnley from New Zealand with 5 ratings

If you just want rum here you go.
Its a great mixer for a low price and my personal favorite to do some home made spicing. Even on the rocks its not bad and it dose not have that strong ethanol taste that you get with more budget rums but I wouldn't call this budget at all.
So if you're strapped for cash and need some love, she will always be on that bar shelf waiting.

Posted almost 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Excellent for mixing with coke and not too expensive, but probably not great for sipping.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

Feel happy if u live in a country, where they sell this in the Bacardy price area, coz it is much better. It can even be a sipper, if the standard is not that high (Parties, after the 10th beer, generally after 4 a.m.)

Posted almost 5 years ago by CBags from United States with 10 ratings

Eclipse has been the defacto mixer for regatta's since well before I could drink. I used to think it was the bee's knees, but now...I see it for what it really is. It's a decent mixer and sadly not really something you can drink on the rocks or neat

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

Good in mixed drinks, but sure you can find better than this at the same price.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

Any Mount Gay rum is good, everything they make. The Eclipse can mix with anything. It's the go-to rum, and always on my shelf.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Strowell1 from United States with 7 ratings

A little too rough to be a sipper, works great in all sorts of sweet run concoctions

Posted almost 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

One of the better cheap rums. Wouldn't buy this one again but it is good enough to make me want to try one of the higher end Mount Gay rums.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

This is not anything special. I would not turn away a free drink handed to me, but if I was buying - I would pick something else. Not bad by any means, but not quite great.

Posted about 5 years ago by Devan from New Zealand with 10 ratings

My overall impression is that in the glass I am presented with a yellow or old gold coloring which strikes against the light very well. A lighter bodied alcohol when swirled and with my inexperienced sences I catch brown sugar, caramel and almost toffee like aromas. There maybe some citrus there, perhaps orange? I found the palate quite difficult to define and it took a couple of tasting sessions to revisit what I was getting. I am satisfied with spiciness, citrus with vanilla and dominant caramel in places. There is a sharpness which I muted with a cube of ice and seemed to enjoy more. With this edge to the rum I mixed with cola and the nuttiness of the cola nut and sweet caramel seemed to enhance the flavours nicely.
Overall, I think this is a complex rum where developed tasters will enjoy more, whereas your less develop palates (like myself) will become baffled and find it easier to select a rum with more obvious characteristics.
Sitting on the shelves for $50NZD is not entirely offensive. This rum was fun trying to figure out. Worth a look.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

its a ok rum for mixing and to drink with a coke..

Posted about 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Used to be my staple rum along with the Appletons V/X , great mixer and pretty good value for money. Too harsh for my palette to drink neat , but very good with both cola and ginger beer.

Posted about 5 years ago by Mike from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Love the colour and the price but not smooth enough for me.

Posted about 5 years ago by Erik from Norway with 17 ratings

Ok for mixing but nothing else. I wouldnt buy this rum again though.

Posted about 5 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

As far as standard mixing rums go this has to be up there with the best. It’s not too bad as a sipper either.

Posted about 5 years ago by toblo from United States with 25 ratings

este ron es uno de los mejores en relacion precio vs calidad, bien destilado y sin sabores alcoholados