Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


327 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

36cd9dca36777d7b6e9b37817da07d59.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

This is a great rum for mixing. However, I typically drink rum neat. So here is my description. It has a mild alcohol scent. Drinking it I notice at first a strong punch of alcohol, but it only lingers a few seconds from the finish. After the first few sips I barely notice the alcohol, and continue to enjoy the rum. At the finish I taste a light vanilla hint. The viscosity is light-bodied and thin. It has a golden-saffron color. Overall, smooth and enjoyable for the price. Usually the best choice at poorly stocked bars. Not the best rum, but certainly not the worst!

35df06ce2296d99eef0f47b9cd8ee35b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by stonytokes from United States with 12 ratings

Absolutely the best value for the money available and rum no bar should be without. For me this rides the line between mixer and sipper and needs only ice and fresh squeezed lime juice to make it palatable. Add some Coke for an outstanding Cuba Libre. It's tempting to rate this higher for the sheer value of a zero sugar added Barbados rum but the Black Barrel edges it out for distinction and character. Beats the hell out of Bacardi any day.

5cba59c6aa86a459f827d2893fdb12b8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Matje from Netherlands with 23 ratings

Kan er eigenlijk niet echt wat van zeggen, wat op zich al genoeg zegt. Niet vervelend maar maakt geen indruk op alle fronten.

D25406bb8ea2d7c49e3ae65e451bc3c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Olly44 from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Nice and cheap and love the taste. My casual drinking rum.

568a44d3718593077e172895a5abe5cf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by 78monk from Australia with 12 ratings

I'm not a rum officionado. I'm pretty sure I've tried all the bad ones though.
This is definitely not one of the bad ones. Smooth, not sweet, slightly spicy, very well balanced. Lovely, could drink it all day.

If I was to introduce a non rum drinker to the world of rums this would be where I'd begin.

900f18e134f3195eb6653736dff54cb8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Happy to drink this when given the opportunity. Not my usual choice but pleasant nonetheless.

Ad20de254295dd7b27a8adbdcfeb44cb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Johann from United States with 2 ratings

Sorry to be a downer here, but I could discern no rum taste, only rubbing alcohol smell. I don't know where the complex notes are that reviewers have been talking about. I decided not to put it in the coquito and used my buddy's Captain Morgan instead, which worked fine.

D04d022698db53c0fbd6e82c593ca574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

This one reminds me of Havana Club in a feisty alcohol burn aftertaste that will shock you to your senses and summon the courage to put it back down. There could be more flavor, for sure, but it’s not too sweet for an industrial rum, which makes this, at the very least, a fine mixer and decent desert isle companion.

466c4444752038239ba892d1d64e8254.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by ben_fairweather from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This is great as an affordable rum for mixing. Light, mellow and fruity odour, albeit lacking in depth; the same applies to the flavour profile.
If you're used to drinking Captain Morgan & coke, this is a great entry into the world of real rum. This is one of my staples, but not one for special occasions.

2b56af3a6f1de25a2c87c65a8b3cb6a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

I did like this rum, but it was nothing special. I am really interested in trying the XO, but I had higher hopes for this one still.

Very 5....

0f12aae85e1f4b9356dd88b3c2ae8771.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Frank Blackmore from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

It pours a deep gold in colour. Aroma is sweet with hints of brown sugar, maybe. Flavour has hints of brown sugar and stone fruits. It's a little thin on the mouthfeel and is just about smooth enough to drink neat. I much prefer this with cola and I think it is has a unique flavour, making it one of the best mixing rums.