Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Eclipse Black rum

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse Black

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


37 Mount Gay Eclipse Black ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Excellente qualité, ça commence avec un gout de caramel et se poursuit longtemps par un mélange de saveur complexe chêne,vanille et noix. J'envisage déjà acheter ma 4 ieme bouteille.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Mount Gay Eclipse Black Rum bottle and label design looks pretty decent. Wood, dryness and smokiness coming through to the nose and palate. Quite a harsh burn at the end, so better to mix it up. Not my cup of tea.

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Standard supermarket £15 on offer it's worth grabbing as a mixer.

Posted about 3 years ago by Gareth J from United States with 8 ratings

MG eclipse black is a good beginners rum, robust enough to mix in a cocktail or rum punch without getting lost yet smooth enough to sip. You will find this expression has many of the common rum traits it makes a great entry level baseline to compare the rums best suited to just mixing to the smoother prestige sippers.

Posted about 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Rather plain and dry product, nothing special for my taste. This was the first Mount Gay Rum for me. I think that I need to taste another one too for making sure what it actually is. This one I would use for mixed drinks instead of having it Straight up

Posted over 4 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum at least in the USA was discontinued sadly. There are a few dusty bottles left in my location at several stores. I bought two, one to drink one to collect.

This rum needs time to breath at its heftier 50% ABV. The blend is aged about 2-7 years Let it sit in the glass for a good while and let it open up a bit.

Aroma after breathing has a nice spice to it, alcohol wafting through the breeze. The tasting is classic bajan, with a nice bite. A nice classic strong spice hit on the palate. A classic example of how Bajan rum should taste. This at 50% does not feel that high of an ABV. Incredible smoothness on its finish no bitterness. The finish lasts for a long while, nice spice that lasts.

If you can still find one I suggest the buy. An easy sipper for me..

Posted about 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

All you would want from an overproof, very rich flavour, a bit of sting and it will get you drunk faster than the regular stuff. This was exactly what I was looking for relative to Mt. Gay Eclipse, much more concentrated taste. I know they're meant to be a different blend, but I find that MG Eclipse is like this with water. I recommend black on the rocks (where there is some burn, but not as much as some reviews would have it) or with coconut water or coke. Really stands up to all mixers and is well priced too.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

At around $20 this rum is a screaming bargain. It shares some of the interesting qualities of its outstanding big brother Extra Old, and is bottled at 100 proof, though still sippable neat.

Posted 19 days ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

In einem Vergleich mit dem Eclipse und dem XO getestet. Gutes Aroma, aber brennt ewig im Rachen. Mir zu schaef und unharmonisch.

Posted 2 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 23 ratings

This rum is carried by many supermarkets in my area and the choice of dark rums on the shelf is usually between this, Meyer's and Gosling's Black Seal. It's not good enough to be a sipping rum but it has more complexity than a Gosling's Black Seal and is the obvious choice over it for mixing.

Posted 3 months ago by Pacorro from Spain with 40 ratings

Es una de esas botellas que compras porque las referencias de la marca son buenas, no es cara 10'45€ botella de litro, pero cuando te lo tomas no tiene nada del otro mundo, y más cuando me gusta tomarlo solo, no creo que repita, no es malo pero hay cosas mejores y no solo es por el precio.

Posted 9 months ago by Torbs (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Enough said.................................................

Posted 10 months ago by RichPotter from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Only suitable for use in cocktails. Not for sipping. Very harsh on palate.

Posted at Hale Pele 12 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

It was okay, middle of the road. I lived, probably good for cocktails.

Posted about 1 year ago by Rlcm4 from Barbados with 5 ratings

This rum is good for cocktails and mixes, the uninitiated rum drinker shouldn't start here, as it may overpower you, falls below Black Barrel and way down from the XO. It still has that rich Mount Gay flavour but is not as smooth as some of it's more well known family.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dimitris from Greece with 68 ratings

Taste 5/10. Mount Gay is very dry similar to whisky. If you tell me if this is whisky or rum i would say a bourbon. This is not rum!

Posted over 1 year ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 51 ratings

This is my 2nd review for this Rum. Over a year ago on my rum voyage I gave it 5 stars and said it was nothing special. I think I was very much into "sweetened" Rums initially, but over the course of time my tastes have changed so much. This is a wonderful "honest" tasting Rum. Lovely flavours, perfectly sweet and the the perfect amount of burn. Amazing value for the price.

Posted about 2 years ago by Arsenio from Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of with 2 ratings

This rum took me back to my early years in which I loved rum and simple life style.
Made out of molasses and the purest water found in the beautiful Barbados.
I spent many sunsets i that island sipping this rum paired with fine cigars. Unforgetable experience.

Posted about 2 years ago by Tof68 from France with 16 ratings

Bon rhum mais prédominance de l'alcool et pas assez de palette aromatique à mon sens.

Posted about 2 years ago by Laurent Lapierre from Canada with 59 ratings

Bon rhum a deguster sur glace ou sans, a decouvrir

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

50% ABV. A fine nose. No astringency. Very dry. Tastes of caramel and charred oak. Quite nice! Short finish.

Great strength, good flavor, no off-notes. Man, this would be great in cocktails. Also a decent budget sipper. I wonder how it compares to Black Barrel...

8+, 7+

Posted over 2 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 30 ratings

Picked this up on sale for 23$ and was surprised. It wasn't too smoky or harsh, but it wasn't amazing either. A little too harsh straight up, but is fine with cola or diluted with some ice.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jozef from Slovakia with 14 ratings

excelent good bajan rum.smooth drinking on the rocks.even greater for mixing.quality product.

Posted over 3 years ago by Simon maloney from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

A very smooth running but I prefer the sharpness of Eclipse. Lovely flavour and good aftertaste.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Heeenrik from Åland Islands with 7 ratings

Used most of the bottle as a mixer but enjoyed it on the rocks too