Posting your rating...
Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask rum

Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay 1703 rum includes rums aged between 10 and 30 years that are joined by master distiller Allen Smith.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703, hence the rum's name. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.9/10(122 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
11
21
34
42
9

Rate Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

122 Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

It's a good rum with a sweet molasses and vanilla flavour but just doesn't seem to have much to offer over some £40-£50 rums. At over £110 a bottle I think it's overpriced.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Chewy molasses, rich butterscotch, fragrant toffee, a light touch of vanilla and cocoa - this rum has it all. I read an interview with RL Seale, (the Foursquare guy), who said that most rum drinkers think they like sweet rum but what they really like is sweetened rum. No doubt he'd add that if drinkers gave a pure, un-sugared rum like this one (and his own superb Foursquare rums) a chance they'd appreciate the immense pleasure from all that they have to offer. They are naturally sweet, and so much more.

I found a bottle for US $85, a steal after shelling out $160 for Flor de Cana 25. Both are mighty tasty, but the 1703 is a treasure. Straight up, right?

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

A nice looking bottle that comes in a cheap paperbox (picture).

When you first smell the rum you find it a bit sticky but when it rests for a few minutes you get a nice smell of fruit, honey and oak.

The taste is a bit sweet with vanilla, oak and spice. You also sense some oak and spice on the quite long aftertaste.

I think this rum nice but a bit overpriced.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Taste profile similar to Mount Gay XO but almost triple the price. Prefer Abuelo Centuria at this price point.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by AP from Finland with 9 ratings

More richness, leather and wood than Extra Old, but pricy. For slow sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Russell Lee from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

So I have bench marked this against plantation 20 year old XO. Not as smooth as if you are a lover of whisky. Has a slightly medical taste and not the smooth sweet molasses taste of a rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 246 ratings

Among my absolute favorite Barbadian rum. Rumor has it that it's a blend of rum between 10 and 30 years. The nose is full and interesting with oak, leather, tobacco, coconut, subtle butterscotch and something slightly acidic and sweet, reminding me of juicy pears. Fantastic. The taste is exceptional and to me balanced perfectly. It's full bodied, initially with ripe pears and a subtle hint of butterscotch sweetness quickly fading into refined notes of vanilla stained oak and tobacco. The finish lingers for a long time. World class rum worth every penny. I simply feel that skillfully aged and unsweetened rum like this, offer a delicate taste profile, that non of the additive rums can hope to achieve. Beautiful and flirting with a 10.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 467 ratings

This is a decent rum, but for my taste the bourbon barrel aging seems to overpower the rum flavor a little more than I like. Smells and tastes of bourbon, oak, caramel, with just a touch of vanilla. Pretty smooth, and if you like bourbon aging, you might enjoy this even more than I did.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 155 ratings

It gives pleasure, a sense of celebration. Much more interesting than MG XO. A bit like cognac. 43% alcohol is not at all burdensome. The aroma is not rich, but its whole action is smooth and complete. A week has passed and I cannot remember anything disappointing.I didn't notice the presence of sugar.

Small img 2663

Posted 2 months ago by Colli from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Bought this 5 years ago when in Barbados, saving it for a special occasion. Beautiful light golden colour with toffee caramel on the nose. Smooth finish with a bit of burn and in my opinion far better than the XO. Agreed it is very expensive but beautiful.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Panchieri from Belgium with 18 ratings

More richness, leather and wood than Extra Old, but pricy. For slow sipping.