Posting your rating...
Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask rum

Mount Gay 1703 rum includes rums aged between 10 and 30 years that are joined by master distiller Allen Smith.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703, hence the rum's name. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

Rate Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


113 Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

No puedo negar que es muy buen ron, se parece un poco al Zacapa. Sin embargo por el precio compraría otro

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Chewy molasses, rich butterscotch, fragrant toffee, a light touch of vanilla and cocoa - this rum has it all. I read an interview with RL Seale, (the Foursquare guy), who said that most rum drinkers think they like sweet rum but what they really like is sweetened rum. No doubt he'd add that if drinkers gave a pure, un-sugared rum like this one (and his own superb Foursquare rums) a chance they'd appreciate the immense pleasure from all that they have to offer. They are naturally sweet, and so much more.

I found a bottle for US $85, a steal after shelling out $160 for Flor de Cana 25. Both are mighty tasty, but the 1703 is a treasure. Straight up, right?

Posted over 4 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

A nice looking bottle that comes in a cheap paperbox (picture).

When you first smell the rum you find it a bit sticky but when it rests for a few minutes you get a nice smell of fruit, honey and oak.

The taste is a bit sweet with vanilla, oak and spice. You also sense some oak and spice on the quite long aftertaste.

I think this rum nice but a bit overpriced.

Posted over 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Taste profile similar to Mount Gay XO but almost triple the price. Prefer Abuelo Centuria at this price point.

Posted over 5 years ago by AP from Finland with 9 ratings

More richness, leather and wood than Extra Old, but pricy. For slow sipping.

Posted over 2 years ago by Russell Lee from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

So I have bench marked this against plantation 20 year old XO. Not as smooth as if you are a lover of whisky. Has a slightly medical taste and not the smooth sweet molasses taste of a rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Among my absolute favorite Barbadian rum. Rumor has it that it's a blend of rum between 10 and 30 years. The nose is full and interesting with oak, leather, tobacco, coconut, subtle butterscotch and something slightly acidic and sweet, reminding me of juicy pears. Fantastic. The taste is exceptional and to me balanced perfectly. It's full bodied, initially with ripe pears and a subtle hint of butterscotch sweetness quickly fading into refined notes of vanilla stained oak and tobacco. The finish lingers for a long time. World class rum worth every penny. I simply feel that skillfully aged and unsweetened rum like this, offer a delicate taste profile, that non of the additive rums can hope to achieve. Beautiful and flirting with a 10.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is a decent rum, but for my taste the bourbon barrel aging seems to overpower the rum flavor a little more than I like. Smells and tastes of bourbon, oak, caramel, with just a touch of vanilla. Pretty smooth, and if you like bourbon aging, you might enjoy this even more than I did.

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This is more like it: Vanilla, spices, oak in a complex package that is also full of finesse. A proof that without essences and added sugars, one can bring forth a great product.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

My first try in the Mount Gay and the 1703 Old Cask was clearly a good catch !
Dry but not to much , this MG is well bodied but still easy to sip with a large bunch of aromas like oak and caramel. Really a nice dicovery from last tasting !

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

My experience with this rum is different from most. I've had a bottle in my cabinet for several years, and the bottle is still almost full. Giving it another try tonight, I get strong alcohol on the nose, with some burnt caramel behind it. It's smooth, only a little heat. I can detect some roasted nuts with the oak and the caramel. But on the whole, it doesn't do much for me. Everyone's palate is different. Not a bad rum, it's just not for me.

Posted over 4 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

For the price should have blown me away but not even close. Solid sipper but should have delivered more

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

I bought this rum because I liked the XO so much. The bottle and cork pledge premium but it somehow lacks the well balanced flavors that make the XO great.

Posted about 1 month ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Soft ashy notes guided by oak to molasses, consistently spicy gummy nuance evolved to air dried ham with light hint of brine. Problem lies on the weak strength., (86/20)

P- Though more talkative on palate, which is always a welcoming sign. Chocolate and herbs. Oak rises and brought out the dry nutty nuances. Timely bitterness, and creamy olive. (87/21)

F- Medium long, waxy, deep echoing oak with subtle hint of cigar smokes, dry spices. Like the compote of bitterness with traces of molasses. (87/21)

B/B - 87/21

Weighted Rate - 83pt
— at Kill Devil KL.

Posted 3 months ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

Ich mag alle Mount Gays, angefangen vom Eclipse bis zum XO,
deshalb dachte ich beim 1703 das allerfeinste zu bekommen und war sehr gespannt.

Die Flasche sieht nett aus, der Karton war leider billiger und liebloser als der vom Black Barrel.

Der Geschmack hat mich wahrlich schockiert:
Diese durchgängige Schärfe kann für mich nur daher kommen das hier weitaus mehr junge als 30jährige Rums in meiner Flasche gelandet sind. Dazu kam leider noch ein klebstoffartiger Geruch
Schade.

Posted 6 months ago by Spichi from Switzerland with 3 ratings

Sehr guter Geschmach. Etwas hart im Abgang #rumnoob

Posted 6 months ago by Mark (PREMIUM) from Netherlands with 1 rating

Ik vind dit een erg lekkere rum en ik kan hem iedereen aanbevelen.

Posted 6 months ago by mswoodruff (PREMIUM) from Singapore with 16 ratings

One of the better ones for sure! Some sweetness and well blended

Posted 10 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Rum tasting with my buddy in Hamburg included Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask. Very nice high end bottle and label design. Golden color. Pure oakiness to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Harsh burn at the end. Maybe our bottle was heavy on the 10 year rum mixture and very light on the 30 year.

Posted 11 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

In mouth: Little dry and slightly sweet. If you let it breath for a couple of minutes you can taste less the alcohol and really enjoy the flavors (some fruit too). After taste is first rough/dry that quickly turns into a sweet and buttery taste that lasts long.
In nose: sweet (honey) and fruits
For the price I was expecting a product that really stands out; something not so rough but smoother. The sweetness is amazing (not too sweet).

Posted at The Rum Bar KL 12 months ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Great blend of pot and column, between rum from 10 - 30 years.

Floral and toasty fresh baked biscotti. Sour cherry and half ripen peach.
I enjoy the acidity pretty much as it encourage me to sip without hesitating.

Dry with fruitiness of tropical fruits: dried coconut flesh, mango and unripe pineapple.
Follow with burned cigar ash.
Dried sensation compare with MGXO.

Earthy, dry finishing with mineral. Light touch of acidity of unripe pineapple juice and its on a very positive side.
Oakiness strike in as time goes by.

Could have rated it at 8 if it wasn't so costly.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

I was really surprised when I drink this first.
Very smooth and full of flavor,.
The tasts of this rum like butter loasted banana, vanilla, coconuts and oak.

Posted about 1 year ago by Rhumas from Denmark with 3 ratings

Is great at what it does, but not being an avid fan of the too smoky, I can only Enjoy it from time to time

Posted about 1 year ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

This is an incredibly smooth rum with a beautiful finish. The longer aging really brings out the flavors of the casks with great hints of vanilla and fruit touching the pallet. One of my favorites but there are better rums for less money.

Posted about 1 year ago by Mark Halse from Australia with 13 ratings

Bought this a year ago and tried it resently, a bit harsh for such a talked up rum