Posting your rating...
Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask rum

Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay 1703 rum includes rums aged between 10 and 30 years that are joined by master distiller Allen Smith.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703, hence the rum's name. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.9/10 (118 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
11
21
32
40
9

Rate Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Belkodil from Netherlands with 10 ratings

If you started, you drink it more and more. Soft, tasty, not too strong in flavor. Be careful not to finish the bottle at once!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

Nose: fruit (pineapple!), caramel, coffee, hints of leatherpolish.. Taste: sparkling sensation on the tongue, leather, coffee, toffee, not too sweet but hints of fruit. Nice one.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Ari from Barbados with 15 ratings

Just rich. the depth and character of this rum, for me, sets it apart from the rest. The taste of oak is what changed my mind on what a rum could be. This rum has it.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mauricio Lacle from Aruba with 7 ratings

It smells great lots of caramel , however I don't think it's very smooth and the taste is too much of a whiskey taste for me. Had to think of my visit to the Jameson factory when I tasted this rum. It got a bit better when it aired for like 10 min.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 165 ratings

Aroma after brown sugar, citruses
Palate is dry and dominated by oak cask

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 43 ratings

This is decent stuff.
Blended, but decent. The exact age is unclear.
Lovely bottle with the shape of Barbados etched into the back.
Nose: Big, with lovely toffee and dried fruit - all a rum should have.
Mouth: Surprisingly sharp, moderately lingering aroma and the 43% alcohol telling. Typical Barbados with some woody sweetness but no sticky sugar.
Throat: Gentle burn, aroma should last longer.

While this is probably the king of the Bajan mainstream, the high price is not justified compared to the Mount Gay XO and definitely not compared to specialist single cask rums from Foursquare or St. Nicholas Abbey.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Cliff from United States with 8 ratings

Delicious, no added sugar, and great for sipping. Truly a bucket list rum and one to enjoy slowly.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

MG 1703 starts off immediately with a very interesting nose. Slightly sharp, but warm and comforting. The palate is oaky, rich, complex, and simply delicious. Much more noticeable pot-still influence than the XO (thanks, Mr. Smith!), and it's smartly bottled at 43% (though a little stronger would have been nice).

This is a very, very good rum—among the very best I've tasted.

I really want to rate this a 10—it's very close—but I'll need to revisit it first. 9+

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marax from Netherlands with 41 ratings

very very nice........................excellent rum

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Meikomat from Germany with 34 ratings

Nicht so gut wie erwartet. Der erste Geschmack ist nicht so aromatisch sondern eher scharf. Der Körper ist schwer und scharf. Der Nachklang lang, wenig fruchtig...

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 108 ratings

Very dry and sharp. It is little bit like agricole, but not too much. For this price it should be better. Disappointed.