Posting your rating...
Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask rum

Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay 1703 rum includes rums aged between 10 and 30 years that are joined by master distiller Allen Smith.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703, hence the rum's name. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.9/10 (118 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
11
21
32
40
9

Rate Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Belkodil from Netherlands with 10 ratings

If you started, you drink it more and more. Soft, tasty, not too strong in flavor. Be careful not to finish the bottle at once!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

slight smell of apples and pear similar to Pyrat Cask 1623, but more harsh. The taste is not nearly as smooth or complex as I would have imagined for such a premium/expensive rum. In a side by side with ED 21, the 21 was easily better in all aspects. 80+?

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by RumRaider from United States with 2 ratings

Definitely a quality product and I am not upset that I bought it. But I am glad I caught my bottle on sale at half price. I mainly bought it due to the sale, I am a Bourbon/Rum drinker by trade and I thought the bottle looked cool. Honestly, its good as far as being smooth and very drinkable but no real wow factor in this one... it's just a solid, I asume unsweetened from the taste, rum and I can certainly appreciate the reserved sweetness of this rum. It may be too dry for the average rum drinker who looks for a more intense sweetness. I'll certainly finish my bottle and enjoy it but there a simply better options out there for my tastes. Glad I tried it but I never need another bottle and this has almost put me off blindly buying bottles (but I did blind buy Foursquare Triptych and that was a HOMERUN!!!). Ultimately, Mount Gay products simply never seem to meet my expectations... of course, to each their own. I find that some distillers just capture flavor profiles that are very appealing to me across their entire line. What I like may not be what you like so please give it a go!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jan Ce from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

You know, what are you drinking. Nice, smooth, easy, soft, not much of sweet taste. Old classic for me. I can highly recommend!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Fmahy from Belgium with 22 ratings

Le nez de ce rhum est très doux, très agréable, à la fois beurré et épicé, caramélisé et boisé. Tout est très équilibré, c’est la délicatesse qui règne ici, sans outrance mais sans timidité non plus. Le rhum déroule lentement ses arômes : de la coco bien grasse, un côté végétal un peu médicinal et résineux. Tout se fait par touches, sans brusquer, avec assurance et sérénité. Les épices sont douces, fondues, mais bien présentes cependant. Quelle maîtrise !
L’aération va aller chercher des arômes plus corsés. Comme après une averse, les odeurs de bois mouillé laissent place à d’autres plus musquées. Le rhum prend alors une autre tournure : voici du cuir frais, de poivre et du piment. Alors qu’il s’était montré soyeux jusqu’ici, il dévoile un caractère plus puissant mais toujours très juste, à l’image de fruits coque frais et finement moulus. Il manquait un versant végétal, c’est maintenant chose faite, et nous avons aussi un petit vernis qui se fait le messager d’un joli boisé. L’équilibre et la maîtrise de ce rhum sont vraiment saisissants.

L’entrée en bouche ne déçoit pas, nous avons une belle attaque, mesurée, avec du boisé et de la levure. Cette bouche est très savoureuse et équilibrée, tous les arômes s’entremêlent mais on distingue de la cire d’abeille et du thé, ainsi qu’une sensation briochée et une vraie notion de complexité. La texture est fondante et le boisé est classieux, c’est un très joli rhum.

La finale offre une consistance très juste, ni trop fine ni trop épaisse, elle rassemble toutes les saveurs rencontrées lors de la dégustation en une nouvelle saveur plutôt délicieuse.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

Sweet, oaky and fruity, lots of vanilla sweetness and faint hints of smoke.
-
very expensive rum but with a decidedly poor taste,
very alcoholic, not fragrant, not aromatic, bitter,
Tasteless

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Lotarka from Czech Republic with 1 rating

Je dobry, ostrejsi. Zkousim tuto aplikaci. Moc to nefunguje.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Catmandu from United States with 15 ratings

For the price, definitely a special occasion rum. It follows the same flavor profile as the XO (of course). It has a taste that is a little sweet with vanilla, spicy pepper and oak. Long after taste.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 167 ratings

This was the first rum in English style that I tested and maybe my rate is unfair because of that. Today is the English style my bag, but at that time I was more into the Spanish style and I didn’t like Mount Gay at all.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by stefan from Canada with 50 ratings

There are much better rums in and below the price range of this. It was just too subtle in the nose, mouth and finish. Hey but that's just me, I like a bit more robust flavors.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Sec et gourmand, un excellent rhum. Le prix est assez aléatoire, parfois à moins de 80€ c’est le top !
Préférer celui ci aux différents mount gilboa et autres last wards !