Posting your rating...
Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask rum

Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay 1703 rum includes rums aged between 10 and 30 years that are joined by master distiller Allen Smith.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703, hence the rum's name. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.9/10 (118 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
11
21
32
40
9

Rate Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Sec et gourmand, un excellent rhum. Le prix est assez aléatoire, parfois à moins de 80€ c’est le top !
Préférer celui ci aux différents mount gilboa et autres last wards !

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mark (PREMIUM) from Netherlands with 1 rating

Ik vind dit een erg lekkere rum en ik kan hem iedereen aanbevelen.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by mswoodruff from Singapore with 16 ratings

One of the better ones for sure! Some sweetness and well blended

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Rum tasting with my buddy in Hamburg included Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask. Very nice high end bottle and label design. Golden color. Pure oakiness to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Harsh burn at the end. Maybe our bottle was heavy on the 10 year rum mixture and very light on the 30 year.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

In mouth: Little dry and slightly sweet. If you let it breath for a couple of minutes you can taste less the alcohol and really enjoy the flavors (some fruit too). After taste is first rough/dry that quickly turns into a sweet and buttery taste that lasts long.
In nose: sweet (honey) and fruits
For the price I was expecting a product that really stands out; something not so rough but smoother. The sweetness is amazing (not too sweet).

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 1 year ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Great blend of pot and column, between rum from 10 - 30 years.

Floral and toasty fresh baked biscotti. Sour cherry and half ripen peach.
I enjoy the acidity pretty much as it encourage me to sip without hesitating.

Dry with fruitiness of tropical fruits: dried coconut flesh, mango and unripe pineapple.
Follow with burned cigar ash.
Dried sensation compare with MGXO.

Earthy, dry finishing with mineral. Light touch of acidity of unripe pineapple juice and its on a very positive side.
Oakiness strike in as time goes by.

Could have rated it at 8 if it wasn't so costly.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

I was really surprised when I drink this first.
Very smooth and full of flavor,.
The tasts of this rum like butter loasted banana, vanilla, coconuts and oak.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rhumas from Denmark with 3 ratings

Is great at what it does, but not being an avid fan of the too smoky, I can only Enjoy it from time to time

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

This is an incredibly smooth rum with a beautiful finish. The longer aging really brings out the flavors of the casks with great hints of vanilla and fruit touching the pallet. One of my favorites but there are better rums for less money.

Small img 20200119 073948

Posted over 1 year ago by Mark Halse from Australia with 22 ratings

Bought this a year ago and tried it resently, a bit harsh for such a talked up rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 48 ratings

Not sugared. The sweet is is is the age. So the flavors are long lasting and the finish is fat. Others tasting notes describe the profile. I respect it like a fine wine, well made and worth taking time to enjoy. So far have had only neat with no ice. For me I will share only with my friends.