Posting your rating...
Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask rum

Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay 1703 rum includes rums aged between 10 and 30 years that are joined by master distiller Allen Smith.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703, hence the rum's name. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

8.0/10
123 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
10
22
34
43
9

Rate Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

123 Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Un rom foarte fin, pentru cunoscători dar nu numai. O alegere excelentă pentru o seară de vară pe o plajă din Barbados bineînțeles :)

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Nickg from Australia with 6 ratings

A great aged rum and will remain in my top 10 recommend you add to your collection.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 104 ratings

Není snadné tuto láhev hodnotit jako rum. V kategorii rumů by dostal jen 7b. V kategorii whiskey by dostal 8b. A v kategorii koňaků pak 9b. Rozhodnu se tedy pro střed 8b. Protože nejde o jen tak prvoplánový kousek. Má mnoho chutí, málo po rumu hodně po koňaku.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Soft ashy notes guided by oak to molasses, consistently spicy gummy nuance evolved to air dried ham with light hint of brine. Problem lies on the weak strength., (86/20)

P- Though more talkative on palate, which is always a welcoming sign. Chocolate and herbs. Oak rises and brought out the dry nutty nuances. Timely bitterness, and creamy olive. (87/21)

F- Medium long, waxy, deep echoing oak with subtle hint of cigar smokes, dry spices. Like the compote of bitterness with traces of molasses. (87/21)

B/B - 87/21

Weighted Rate - 83pt
— at Kill Devil KL.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

Ich mag alle Mount Gays, angefangen vom Eclipse bis zum XO,
deshalb dachte ich beim 1703 das allerfeinste zu bekommen und war sehr gespannt.

Die Flasche sieht nett aus, der Karton war leider billiger und liebloser als der vom Black Barrel.

Der Geschmack hat mich wahrlich schockiert:
Diese durchgängige Schärfe kann für mich nur daher kommen das hier weitaus mehr junge als 30jährige Rums in meiner Flasche gelandet sind. Dazu kam leider noch ein klebstoffartiger Geruch
Schade.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Spichi from Switzerland with 3 ratings

Sehr guter Geschmach. Etwas hart im Abgang #rumnoob

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mark from Netherlands with 1 rating

Ik vind dit een erg lekkere rum en ik kan hem iedereen aanbevelen.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by mswoodruff from Singapore with 16 ratings

One of the better ones for sure! Some sweetness and well blended

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Rum tasting with my buddy in Hamburg included Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask. Very nice high end bottle and label design. Golden color. Pure oakiness to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Harsh burn at the end. Maybe our bottle was heavy on the 10 year rum mixture and very light on the 30 year.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

In mouth: Little dry and slightly sweet. If you let it breath for a couple of minutes you can taste less the alcohol and really enjoy the flavors (some fruit too). After taste is first rough/dry that quickly turns into a sweet and buttery taste that lasts long.
In nose: sweet (honey) and fruits
For the price I was expecting a product that really stands out; something not so rough but smoother. The sweetness is amazing (not too sweet).

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 2 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Great blend of pot and column, between rum from 10 - 30 years.

Floral and toasty fresh baked biscotti. Sour cherry and half ripen peach.
I enjoy the acidity pretty much as it encourage me to sip without hesitating.

Dry with fruitiness of tropical fruits: dried coconut flesh, mango and unripe pineapple.
Follow with burned cigar ash.
Dried sensation compare with MGXO.

Earthy, dry finishing with mineral. Light touch of acidity of unripe pineapple juice and its on a very positive side.
Oakiness strike in as time goes by.

Could have rated it at 8 if it wasn't so costly.