Posting your rating...
Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask rum

Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay 1703 rum includes rums aged between 10 and 30 years that are joined by master distiller Allen Smith.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703, hence the rum's name. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.9/10 (118 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
11
21
32
40
9

Rate Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Sec et gourmand, un excellent rhum. Le prix est assez aléatoire, parfois à moins de 80€ c’est le top !
Préférer celui ci aux différents mount gilboa et autres last wards !

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

My experience with this rum is different from most. I've had a bottle in my cabinet for several years, and the bottle is still almost full. Giving it another try tonight, I get strong alcohol on the nose, with some burnt caramel behind it. It's smooth, only a little heat. I can detect some roasted nuts with the oak and the caramel. But on the whole, it doesn't do much for me. Everyone's palate is different. Not a bad rum, it's just not for me.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

For the price should have blown me away but not even close. Solid sipper but should have delivered more

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

I bought this rum because I liked the XO so much. The bottle and cork pledge premium but it somehow lacks the well balanced flavors that make the XO great.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 210 ratings

This is a very good rum but for double the cost of XO? I find this true of many top tier selections like; Ron Abuelo Centutia, Flor de Cana 25. These rums just don’t hold up to the price, except for Ron Centenario, and Diplimatico. Hey it’s a good rum not great and not great value.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by HarlanWolff from Thailand with 1 rating

A very decent drop indeed. On the rocks and with a pipeful of Navy Flake is a good way to end the day.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Nickg from Australia with 6 ratings

A great aged rum and will remain in my top 10 recommend you add to your collection.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

Není snadné tuto láhev hodnotit jako rum. V kategorii rumů by dostal jen 7b. V kategorii whiskey by dostal 8b. A v kategorii koňaků pak 9b. Rozhodnu se tedy pro střed 8b. Protože nejde o jen tak prvoplánový kousek. Má mnoho chutí, málo po rumu hodně po koňaku.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Soft ashy notes guided by oak to molasses, consistently spicy gummy nuance evolved to air dried ham with light hint of brine. Problem lies on the weak strength., (86/20)

P- Though more talkative on palate, which is always a welcoming sign. Chocolate and herbs. Oak rises and brought out the dry nutty nuances. Timely bitterness, and creamy olive. (87/21)

F- Medium long, waxy, deep echoing oak with subtle hint of cigar smokes, dry spices. Like the compote of bitterness with traces of molasses. (87/21)

B/B - 87/21

Weighted Rate - 83pt
— at Kill Devil KL.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

Ich mag alle Mount Gays, angefangen vom Eclipse bis zum XO,
deshalb dachte ich beim 1703 das allerfeinste zu bekommen und war sehr gespannt.

Die Flasche sieht nett aus, der Karton war leider billiger und liebloser als der vom Black Barrel.

Der Geschmack hat mich wahrlich schockiert:
Diese durchgängige Schärfe kann für mich nur daher kommen das hier weitaus mehr junge als 30jährige Rums in meiner Flasche gelandet sind. Dazu kam leider noch ein klebstoffartiger Geruch
Schade.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Spichi from Switzerland with 3 ratings

Sehr guter Geschmach. Etwas hart im Abgang #rumnoob