Posting your rating...
Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask rum

Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Barbados | Aged

Mount Gay 1703 rum includes rums aged between 10 and 30 years that are joined by master distiller Allen Smith.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703, hence the rum's name. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

8.0/10
123 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
10
22
34
43
9

Rate Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

123 Mount Gay 1703 Old Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Un rom foarte fin, pentru cunoscători dar nu numai. O alegere excelentă pentru o seară de vară pe o plajă din Barbados bineînțeles :)

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This is more like it: Vanilla, spices, oak in a complex package that is also full of finesse. A proof that without essences and added sugars, one can bring forth a great product.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

My first try in the Mount Gay and the 1703 Old Cask was clearly a good catch !
Dry but not to much , this MG is well bodied but still easy to sip with a large bunch of aromas like oak and caramel. Really a nice dicovery from last tasting !

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

My experience with this rum is different from most. I've had a bottle in my cabinet for several years, and the bottle is still almost full. Giving it another try tonight, I get strong alcohol on the nose, with some burnt caramel behind it. It's smooth, only a little heat. I can detect some roasted nuts with the oak and the caramel. But on the whole, it doesn't do much for me. Everyone's palate is different. Not a bad rum, it's just not for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

For the price should have blown me away but not even close. Solid sipper but should have delivered more

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by David from Germany with 77 ratings

I bought this rum because I liked the XO so much. The bottle and cork pledge premium but it somehow lacks the well balanced flavors that make the XO great.

Ffffff

Posted 8 days ago by Pbraunsc from United States with 16 ratings

Exquisite! Ambrosia! As good as it gets! Had my first taste at the distillery in Barbados. I only serve to my very best friends.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by JGold from United States with 11 ratings

IMO, over some ice or a splash of cold water to open up is the way to go with this one. Some burn into ally but finishes nice. Grows on you as you try to pick up on tasting notes. Nice nose. Tasting notes reveal themselves as you continue to sip.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by David-OC from United States with 4 ratings

On the rocks, smooth and easy sipping. Toffee on the nose, citrus and vanilla. Enjoyable.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

This is a very good rum but for double the cost of XO? I find this true of many top tier selections like; Ron Abuelo Centutia, Flor de Cana 25. These rums just don’t hold up to the price, except for Ron Centenario, and Diplimatico. Hey it’s a good rum not great and not great value.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by HarlanWolff from Thailand with 1 rating

A very decent drop indeed. On the rocks and with a pipeful of Navy Flake is a good way to end the day.