Posting your rating...
Montecristo 12-Year rum
Montecristo 12-Year rum

Montecristo 12-Year

Guatemala | Aged

7.6/10 (16 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
7
2
1

Rate Montecristo 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Montecristo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ead91749c5340c7d8100bb3579f3d79a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

This is a terrific Guatemalan rum. I use to find it at a hole-in-the-wall liquor store when I lived in Washington, D.C. There was a casino in another state where I used to be able to order it. Both were 5-10 years ago. Recently I was in DC on business. That hole-in-the-wall joint is long since closed. Nearby I found another place and decided to see what rarities they had. Voila, the first bottle of Montecristo 12 year old rum I've seen in years. It was on a top shelf (that required the clerk to get a ladder) covered in dust (and marked up by some $20. Guess the guy was getting a return on his investment).

So onto the review. The color is a light golden. It is about the same color as Bacardi Gold. But don't be fooled. That's where the similarities end. This is no swill. It's a sipper not a mixer.

Nice nose. Not overpowering and rather unlike most I've tried. Perhaps Westerhall (one of my all time favorites) comes closest but not the same. Considering it's been aged in oak barrels, there is little oak in the aroma or taste. There is a hint of vanilla, but it is not strong as many others such as Zacapa and Zaya. The sweetness is unique. No doubt there is molasses. But there is more that I couldn't discern (and humbly I suggest I'm pretty good at telling). After several days and halfway through the bottle, I had to cheat and do a little research. It seems the sweetness I couldn't identify is Maple Sugar and the spice (or just the other taste) I couldn't figure out is ginger. It makes for a superior rum.

For me it's more of a summer time rum. And while it has the same label as the Montecristo Cigar, it wouldn't be my first choice to sip over a cigar. I thought about giving it a 9. Maybe more attractive packaging and NOT a screw top would have been worth a half point and taken it to a 9. This is still a special rum.

It's unclear if they are still producing this rum (as well as who "they" are) but I found the additional info provided by the manufacturer for the San Francisco Spirits Competition. It seems to be from March 2016. So maybe they are still producing it? If you know for certain (as well as where to buy it), please let me know. If you see a bottle but don't want it, get it and the odds are I will buy it from you at a reasonable profit!

D51e490a6447069271f2b69afe1088ac.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Mal from United States with 11 ratings

So I had this stuff for the first time tonight because at my local bar our bartender was tossing it and I wanted to try it. Sadly they don't make it anymore so she decided to get rid of her stock because nobody ever ordered it and she wasn't going to keep a bottle nobody drank. So this rum is a sweeter rum in fact it has a very vanilla characteristic to it. I had this mixed with cola and i'm sort of sad I didn't have this on the rocks or neat because this is definitely a sipping rum. Like I said it's very sweet and it doesn't have a huge alcohol bite to it at all, when I had it with coke it blended with the cola very well and the sweetness of the caramel and vanilla came shining through. It was an experience that i'm sad i'll never have again. A beautiful once in a lifetime rum. :(

37888dc4222fcd1104aab5e202358377.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Gingery tasting rum that is not as sweet as some others I've tried but not super dry like a Brugal añejo either. Flavor is reminiscent of Ron del Barrilito but in a much milder way with too much alcohol taste and burn in my opinion.

0b3eb738cf54231f7e6ab963742fb7f1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is no mixer. It is a sipper. I don't know if it is till in production as their website appears now defunct. This has been on my to try list for a while. Great aroma similar most to Botran 1893. Smooth with a slight Bajan style like bite.

C36065b815970fe3cb3f13719b27cdcb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 13 ratings

I didn’t hate this rum, but it did not have the smoothness I look for in a sipper. I feel like it had a strong alcohol punch. It did have a nice level of sweetness, and good color and clarity.

9e445578aed1401ad36017a1a4ce9860.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Maximilliano from United States with 5 ratings

I waited a few years to try this now-defunct rum and wasn't disappointed. This is easily one of the best daily sippers I've ever had. Sweet, but only on the tip of your tongue, with a body of subtle yet complex character. Wonderfully balanced with a smooth, lingering finish. Whoever blended this rum is a pure genius. It is such a shame that this rum didn't last. What I like about this rum is the fact that, despite being a true 12-year old rum, there is not too much oak - a sign of good barrel management. Not getting too much extraction from the barrel is key. If you happen to see a bottle in the wild, snap it up without hesitation!

6236074dc57533d0e69cd291eada5f0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Can't seem to find much information about this rum, or many places selling it. It was alright, but nothing special.

7ad694a7c72913c6e0312638659fd1dd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Brenda Dunn from United States with 1 rating

So smooth, exquisite ... no bad aftertaste. This is the best tasting...sipping rum ever. Why would they stop making it is beyond me. Why will no one in the company respond

376acb4d1e52b306e08d66090d6b7f4a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Stephen from United States with 4 ratings

I wasn't expecting much going in, but I was very pleasantly surprised. This is definitely a sipper with nice depth and body. It's a shame it seems to be no more.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Mild aroma in the bottle. The flavor is slightly sweet with hints of toffee and caramel. Medium level burn in the throat leaving a nice subtle sweet finish. I expected a bit more from a 12 year aged rum. If this was aged in oak barrels you really couldn't tell since there isn't much of the mild oak bitterness to be found. Very nice rum. Surprised to find it in Thomasville, Georgia. I rate this so close to a 9 but not just quite there. I wonder how it would be if it were 15 years.