Posting your rating...
Cloven Hoof Spiced rum

Cloven Hoof Spiced

United Kingdom | Spiced

7.4/10 (13 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
2
1
1
1
5

Rate Cloven Hoof Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


13 Cloven Hoof Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

I'm not a big spiced rum guy, so I was hesitant to try this one, but I'm glad I did. The makers of this rum (which is a blend of Guyanese and Trinidadian), frustrated by a spiced rum market saturated with syrupy vanilla bombs, set out to create something different (though they held onto the strong, "fun/dangerous" brand tropes). The end result is decidedly spice-driven, not vanilla! Think heavy cloves (see what they did there?), cinnamon, and other "winter" spices. This stuff would be ideal with hot cider, mulled wine, cola, or for a quick spiced cocktail.

7

Fb8dc16aa3e4432dd449a8a8ebd45172.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by opkins from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Definitely my least favourite out of the small amount of rums that I’ve tried. Hugely overpowering taste of cloves which I’m not a fan of. Luckily I only bought a 50ml miniature bottle because I had to pour it away. It looks like this one is a bit like marmite.

278c4d95784794ce49e4fba37ec65b4f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Sylvia from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

I tried this for the first time at a festival. Everything after that was a bit of a blur!
But this rum is next level in terms of spiced rums - not too sweet, plenty of bite with just a little burn. Works well with anything apple - fizzy or still.

D0dc150d3b61b567366b9fb2f1dd9dd6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

One of worst rums I have tasted unfortunately it tasted like cloves essense but since I do not like them I just cant put higher note

Final verdict:
never more

6236074dc57533d0e69cd291eada5f0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

I enjoy a good spiced rum from time to time, as it's nice to have with a mixer when I want a little break from more pure, neat rum. I bought this knowing full well that it wouldn't be a proper rum, per se, but rather a typical "spirit drink" as labelled on the bottle. It's not bad. It's not great either, but it's drinkable with coke or ginger. A bit heavy on the cloves in their spices, which maybe should have been expected due to the play-on-words in the name. Yeah not much else to say really, not a terrible rum, but there are definitely better spiced rums out there for the price.

00107cd28bd4b2605c934969b924b1d7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by DeanH from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Full on flavour without the usual sweetness of spiced rums. Its a more refined tast that says it all. Spiced & Rum. They got the blend right without over emphasising anyone thing. OK Cloves maybe but its a nice quirky change from vanilla and caramel alone. I deff want more, and will enjoy neat and mixed.

87c5dc88e3bb7812dae6d9a8cb221638.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Chris Edwards from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Great tasting spicy rum. Can definitely taste and smell cloves, so no good for you if you're not a fan of cloves. Slight burn, but really tasty. I think it may mix well with coke, but do far have only had it straight. Recommended.

Ee1db5b159ab82b17044bc73f88fa5c8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ian Skelton from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Cloven Hoof is the one mainstay in my drinks cabinet due to its popularity with my family. I love this rum on its own with a few cubes of ice as well as mixed with a premium ginger ale / beer. It's a smooth, spicy rum that's so easy to drink you sometimes forget how strong it is. If you're going to try one new rum this year then make it Cloven Hoof!

291892307bf73d976c30d8bba581c777.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jim from United Kingdom with 1 rating

I must confess to not being a big rum drinker or a fan of cloves, but this is absolutely wonderful. Lovely as a sipping rum but works equally well in a cocktail. It’s beautifully smooth and the flavour has real depth to it. It’s replaced whisky as my night cap of choice.

A890f23bdc5fa3c4818439859f429118.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Peter Stanley from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Love it the spices, very unique taste, not your usual vanilla stuff.